My New Normal

It feels like it’s been forever since I’ve written a new post! I promise I’m still around… Just trying to still figure out how to manage our “new normal” with the twins. πŸ™‚ (Who are already ELEVEN weeks old!!)

We recently made the decision for me not to return to work. By “recently”, I mean a few weeks ago. It was not an easy decision, even though for as long as I can remember, I’ve always wanted to be a stay at home wife/mom. But once it could finally happen, I was scared to death. All kinds of questions kept going through my brain…

What if my son misses his friends at daycare? What if he gets bored? What if I end up neglecting him due to the time consumed by the twins? Will I ever sleep again? What if my blood sugar drops when I’m home “alone” and there are no adults around to help? Ugh, thank you, diabetes, for managing to work yourself into every aspect of my life!

But it’s a reality. And in those first few weeks home, there were lots and lots (and lots) of lows. More than once, I would be feeding one (sometimes both) of the babies and would have to ask my five year old to bring me my tester and glucose tabs. One of the times, I had to have him count out my tabs for me. Thank goodness he can count! And to keep it interesting, he chose to also count in Spanish. Lol

Talk about a humbling moment, folks. And one I don’t like to happen…. But again, it’s reality.

The BG’s are finally starting to levels back off. My A1C is better than it’s ever been (“thanks” to those aforementioned lows) and he hasn’t had to count out uno, dos, tres tabs for me lately. πŸ˜‰

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My New Normal

  1. And I’m totally chuckling at the idea of your little guy counting off glucose tabs in Spanish…haha!

  2. Congratulations on the twins (a bit late, I know)!

  3. Scott E says:

    If you’re actually COUNTING your low-treatment carbs (or having someone else do it for you), you exercise a lot more self-restraint than most PWD’s I know!

    Good luck with the new normal!

    • Shannon says:

      That’s not always the norm πŸ™‚ Sometimes if I don’t feel the “instant gratification” then I start scrounging and eating whatever is nearby…. lol

  4. a1conceive says:

    I am so excited to read about your adventures as a SAHM with type 1 as that is the plan for when I (hopefully) have a baby. I’m laughing at the thought of your five year old counting in Spanish. What a good helper!

  5. Pingback: Conservation | No More Shots for Shannon

Leave a Reply

