Diabetes on the Tube

I’ve been home for a few weeks now – 2 on bed rest, then 8 since having my twin boys.. (sheesh, has it been that long already??)

One thing I’ve noticed is that there are a LOT of commercials on tv about diabetes. So many diseases (sorry to use that word, Scott!) out there but ours seems to be in the spot light a lot lately for some reason – sometimes that’s good, and sometimes not so good.

It’s either Mary Tyler Moore talking about supporting JDRF (which I’m all in favor of, as I’m very active in my local chapter. But I digress… )

Or it’s a Novolog pen commercial. Which always gets me because they say one of the most common side effects of using the pen is low blood sugar. Ya think??

Or it’s the Gold Bond lotion JUST for diabetics. Is our skin really THAT much drier than everyone else’s – that we need our OWN lotion??

Or it’s Lyrica which treats aches & pains associated with diabetes. Do we have more aches and pains than anyone else? I have aches and pains from my age and lugging around twin babies… not at all related to my diabetes. 🙂

Or it’s the one I caught yesterday – and I missed the details but caught the jist – it was one of the local ambulance chasing attorneys asking if you’d been diagnosed with cancer after taking some specific diabetes medicine.

Or it’s an episode of The Doctors when Elizabeth Perkins talking about her own Dx in 2005. I will blog about that one separately.

Or it’s the new show “Great American Baking Competition” (I think that’s what it’s called) and one of the contestants said, “I’m a Type 1 diabetic, so I never get to eat the things I bake. I have to have someone else taste it all for me.” Really? You bake all the time and don’t taste your own food? Basically what I “heard” when she said that was diabetics can’t have sugar. And if you’ve read my blog for awhile, you know that’s a sore spot for me. 😉 We CAN have sugar – just in moderation.

Or it’s last week’s episode of The Bachelorette – one of the contestants (Michael G) announced to Desiree that he’s a Type 1 Diabetic. He felt it was important to share that with her, and he’d already told the other guys in the house. I think that’s interesting … probably not too long ago, it wouldn’t have been something that was announced..especially on tv. But I applaud him for letting everyone around him know about his diabetes. Reality is that any of us with diabetes could pass out or show other harmful symptoms, so it’s always a good idea to let those people that you spend a significant amount of time with that you’re diabetic. I know there are a lot of people that don’t feel the same way, and YDMV. But for safety reasons, I personally think it’s always a good idea. All of my friends know and so have all of my coworkers I’ve ever had.

Or it’s today’s episode of Katie Couric and she was talking to a mom who has a son addicted to heroine. I’m paraphrasing, but the mom basically said that this isn’t like having a child diagnosed with diabetes, and there’s nothing you can do about it. When your child is an addict, there IS something you can do and you have to get him/her help soon.

Uh, so are you saying if your child is dx’d with diabetes, there’s nothing you can do as a parent? Just sit back and twiddle your thumbs and say, “Oh well. Darn the luck.” I’m SO glad to say that could not be further from the truth.

No, a parent cannot feasibly cure their child’s diabetes (well, unless he/she adds more cinnamon to his/her diet.. ) 😉 But the parent can (and absolutely should) educate him/herself in order to either manage the disease for the child, or to help teach the child how to manage it him/herself.

So to the mom that said that … shame on you.

I think it’s awesome that there’s so much talk about diabetes out there… but only when it’s FACTUAL information. And unfortunately there are still so many misconceptions out there about diabetes.

Which is why I LOVE the DOC (Diabetes Online Community) and how we are all helping to raise awareness and help clear up some of the misconceptions. Since starting my blog a year and a half ago, I’ve had so many friends of mine tell me after reading different posts that they didn’t realize this or that … That’s very satisfying and I love that. 🙂

Getting off my soap box now …

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Diabetes on the Tube

  1. Keiran says:

    I saw that ep of GABC, and I thought the same thing when she said she could never eat her own baking. MAYBE she knows she has zero self-control, and a small portion would lead to an eating binge, and she’d consume way too much sugar. But that’s one huge maybe. And, yanno, if she’s “never” been able to eat her own baking, then why even bother? Why not spend that time trying to come up with delicious recipes that are wonderful for diabetics instead? And how does she know her baking really is any good? Sure, she’s got to be good since she made it on to the competition, but people could’ve been BSing her all these years, telling her it’s good when it sucks. 😉

    I see a lot of the Lyrica ads, too, especially when I was taking it last month. Although, I think I notice more of the ads from them dealing with fibro pain.

    • Keiran says:

      Since this post, I’m seeing/noticing more of the Lyrica/diabetic neuropathy commercials. Still some for fibro, but I am noticing the diabetes more often.

  2. Scott E says:

    I agree with you completely, on all topics (well, except for the cinnamon part. That doesn’t really work). Believe it or not, I’ve even grown to accept the “disease” word.

    • Shannon says:

      In case people didn’t catch that… I was totally kidding about the cinnamon. There are all kinds of articles out there saying it can help cure diabetes… But it’s NOT true, people. 🙂

  3. Mom says:

    I agree with you on the Lyrica. Maybe it helps diabetics, hopefully. I have multiple sclerosis and the dr. has had me on it for years for spasticity reasons. So it must contribute help for many ailments.

  4. StephenS says:

    Yeah, I’m seeing a lot of commercials out there (including from ambulance-chasing attorneys asking if you’ve taken Avandia) and it shows me that there are a lot of entities out there looking to separate us from our money. Because we have diabetes. I don’t know what to do about it, but it kind of bothers me sometimes.

  5. Most definitely, awareness is key, and I detest when people who DON’T understand diabetes (like the heroine-addict’s mom, and Bill Cosby) make ridiculous sweeping statements that only add to the myths and misunderstandings. Grrrr.

  6. momof2t1s says:

    Hey lady. sorry Ive not been around to comment much. I admit I get distracted easily like looking at pics of your beautiful boys.
    Clearly I do not watch enough TV. I knew none of this was going on. Still part of me is just happy the word ‘diabetes’ is being tossed around so frequently. Yes I hate the misconceptions that the ignorance of so many perpetuate. Still the word is out there – I wish it was with more factual information – especially in regards to the different types and that kids are being diagnosed daily. I should note that I don’t feel any one type is worse/better than another but I want parents to know that kids can get diabetes and they should know the signs. honestly thats the only reason. There was a time I was tired of explaining the differences. Now I just say – well my kids have type 1 which is different than type 2 but honesty the resulting complications can be the same.
    going back to your point – more factual information is needed, maybe less commercials and more public service announcements and TV networks should research diabetes to truly teach and inform – they have a responsibility.
    Your boys are beautiful – all of them. You are beautiful and I miss TX. Hugs

    • Shannon says:

      You’ve had a lot going on… I’m surprised you’re even reading blogs these days! ((HUGS))

      And I agree–PSA’s would be much better!!

      Miss you, too!

Leave a Reply

