DBlog Week: Accomplishments

Today’s prompt: We don’t always realize it, but each one of us has come a long way since diabetes first came into our life. It doesn’t matter if it’s been 5 weeks, 5 years or 50 years; you’ve done something outstanding diabetes-wise.

I’m embarrassingly late getting in on DBLog Week … but better late than never, right? I keep trying to remind myself I have two very valid reasons to be behind the times these days. 😉

I’ve had two humongous accomplishments in the 20 years since my T1 Diagnosis….

The first one happened February of 2008:

20130516-230603.jpg

The second accomplishment happened April 2013:

20130516-230645.jpg

Being diabetic, getting pregnant can be a daunting thought/process. Most of us are told we shouldn’t get pregnant. Or worse yet that we can’t (which was told to me while I was in the hospital after my dx at the age of 17.) But it can be done. And I’ve done it twice, and have had two incredibly healthy pregnancies -my first one produced my son, and the second one gave us our TWO sons. Having diabetes adds so many more factors to the process, from getting pregnant to maintaining a healthy pregnancy (for both mom and baby), to delivery, even after delivery (my twin boys are now 4 weeks old and I’m still dealing with postpartum blood sugar issues).

But for me, I’ve known since I was a little girl that I wanted to be a mommy. So I was going to do everything in my power to make it happen.. and I did. And delivered 3 beautifully healthy baby boys. Yay me!

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to DBlog Week: Accomplishments

  1. Melissa Lee says:

    Love this. And congrats again (and again).

  2. Scott E says:

    Agreed. Yay you!

  3. Karen says:

    I must say you look even better 5 years older and after delivering TWINS! How’d you do that?! Thanks for this post. Of my 3 girls, my sweet girl with type 1 is the biggest lover of babies and has been the best mommy to her dolls. It would be horrible for someone to tell her she couldn’t have one of her own if she wanted. I think I’ll print this out and save it for her when the time comes.

  4. Yay you, indeed! You are awesome (and I love those pictures).

Leave a Reply

