I’m baaaack!

Wow I am so far behind in posting …. sorry ’bout that, but things have been a bit crazy in our household … we had our baby boys on April 16th and everyone is doing great!  More on that later…

So I have blogged about my Endo before…  we have an interesting relationship to say the least. Basically I manage my diabetes on my own, and he writes my Rx’s.  I know .. I know.

I saw him about a week and a half before the babies were born.  At that time, I was already on bed rest but still thought I had about 2 weeks to go till my scheduled c-section (ended up being just a few more days, but I digress.)    At my appointment, we went through the usual questions/answers.. and then he ended with “Ok, let’s see you back in a month.”

So I said, “Uh … the babies will be here in 2 weeks or less, do you not want to see me when I’m in the hospital?”

His response was, “You can have your OB call me if she needs me.”

HUH????

My Endo is a really nice guy … and I love his office staff… that’s what’s kept me there for so long.  But I’m past needing nice …. I need someone to help me manage this disease.  Even though I’ve more than proven to myself lately that I’m doing a darn good job of managing it myself these days. 😉

Here’s a sneak peak pic of the boys.  More to come on the actual birth story soon …. Thanks to those of you that are hanging in there with me and being patient with my posts! 🙂

DanShannonTwinsBirth

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’m baaaack!

  1. Sara says:

    Woot! Can’t wait to hear more about those precious babies and your search for a slightly more precious endo than your current one.

  2. Colleen says:

    Congratulations to all of you!

  3. Karen says:

    Oh, wow! How beautiful! I was completely unprepared for the emotion and tears that came when I saw that picture. I guess because of reading your story through the pregnancy, knowing this is not just a picture of a woman with her husband and newborn twins…it’s a beautiful picture of VICTORY over diabetes.

    • Shannon says:

      Thank you, Karen!!! Also see it as a victory– it was a daily challenge to take care if them when they were growing inside of me. So when they were born (both completely healthy!!), there was very much a feeling of… ” Whew!! I did it!!!”

  4. StephenS says:

    LOVE that photo! Glad to hear things are going well.

  5. Karen says:

    Yay, congratulations to you!! And yes, definitely time to start endo-shopping.

  6. Pingback: DBlog Week: Accomplishments | No More Shots for Shannon

Leave a Reply

