Irony

One thing that some people might not know about a pregnant PWD, is the placenta (in my case two) gives off a hormone that makes you insulin resistant … so last week when I started waking up out of the blue in the 50s/60s and then dipping back down around dinner time … it caused my OB’s antennas to perk up. It could mean several things, but the first thing she wanted to rule out was any issues with one or both of the babies’ placentas. I originally had an appointment with my Perinatologist on Monday, and she said that I’d be seeing him sooner than that, so she had him see me Wednesday instead.

Luckily he couldn’t find anything wrong. He even said that I’m “textbook” for a high risk pregnancy .. and yet I’m sailing right through and he said he talks about me to other patients and doctors all the time. 🙂 I originally had my c-section scheduled for 4/25 (38wks) but his suggestion was to move it up a week, because even though everything looked fine on the sonogram, something is obviously making my sugars drop.

Now don’t get me wrong … I’m loving all these perfect BG’s. But at the end of the day, they are unfortunately not the norm for someone in their 36th week of pregnancy, especially with twins. Your insulin needs increase the further along you get in your pregnancy … so I should be running high, not low.

I saw my OB the next day (Thursday) and she said she’d like me to get to 37 weeks which is considered “full term” and it’s a week earlier than originally planned. So that’s the plan right now .. She’ll take the babies via c-section on 4/18 instead of 4/25. I see her on Monday and Wednesday this coming week, just to double check everything so there’s still a chance they’ll be here before the 18th, but that’s the latest I’ll cook them for sure. And let me be honest .. I’m more than ready. 🙂

I’d not gained any weight until late in my 2nd trimester.. and then I plateaud around 11 lbs. But these last few weeks, I’ve doubled that and I’m still all baby (babies). The boys both weigh a little over 6 lbs each so it’s no doubt that I’m incredibly uncomfortable these days as I roll off the couch.. Oh .. I forgot to mention she put me on bed rest last week and took me off work. That was mainly because my BP was creeping up. I’ve been on BP meds since I was 19 years old (so for almost 20 yrs) but when I hit 18 wks in this pregnancy … I almost passed out from my BP dropping too low, so she took me off of it. Then a few weeks ago, it crept back up to where I normally am and then it’s taken a while to level it out. But it seems to be ok right now.

I’ve been so incredibly lucky throughout this entire pregnancy. And I hope that my story is encouraging to other women who are diabetic who have been told they can’t/shouldn’t get pregnant. If you go into the pregnancy with a healthy A1C, and in good health overall, you CAN have a healthy pregnancy. I’ve been diabetic for over 20 years, I’m in my late 30s and am carrying twins … and so far so good. 🙂

We’ll get to meet our little bundles of joy in less than a week, so my life is about to get super crazy … but I’ll try to keep everyone posted as best I can! 🙂

I titled this particular post “Irony” because I find it incredibly ironic that the thing that is causing my c-section to be moved up a week is the fact that I’m having perfect/low blood sugars. Which is something that every diabetic strives for (well, for the perfect ones, not necessarily the low numbers.)

The graph below shows my numbers for just this week.. not a typical graph for someone carrying multiples in their 36th week of pregnancy. But I’ll take it 😉

weekly bgs

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Irony

  1. Scott E says:

    A few days ago, I found myself wondering “I wonder how Shannon’s doing with those twins she’s carrying… I haven’t heard from her in awhile.” Then I got to your fourth paragraph (where you said you’re in your 36th week), quickly did the math, and told myself “Whoa! That’s like…NEXT WEEK!”

    I’m so excited for you…and am hoping that everything goes absolutely perfect on Thursday (or sooner).

    • Shannon says:

      LOL Thanks, Scott! You’d think with me being on bed rest at home that I’d have all kinds of time to do things like keep my blog updated…. But apparently not! I will definitely let everyone know when they get here… Nice to know I have people out there rooting for me 😉

  2. Katie says:

    Also been thinking of you in Minnesota! Best of luck!

  3. Add another Minnesota well-wisher! I can’t wait to see them!

  4. StephenS says:

    Good luck on Thursday! Get some sleep while you can. Sending well wishes your way…

Leave a Reply

