Corrections

So I’ve had something happening lately that I don’t recall happening before with my pump … and wondered if anyone else sees this with their own pumps?

Since I’m pregnant, and quickly nearing the day when we’ll get to meet these two special boys I’ve been growing for the last 8ish months (FOUR weeks from today, unless they decide to show up before then on their own!) 😉 my insulin needs have risen drastically. My most recent trend has been the BG’s creeping up in the evenings. My endo made some adjustments this week, so hopefully that will help.

But my question/observation is this …

For example, the other night I checked at my 2 hour post meal and I was 227. I entered that into my pump, and it did not give me a correction bolus. (huh?) So I gave it another 30 min or so and checked it again – it was 247. Put that one into my pump, and then it corrected? Again, huh? Why wouldn’t it have corrected the first number? My “range” is set to 120. (Per Dr Scheiner, you should have a number as your target, not a range.)

Has anyone else experienced this? Where when you’re high and you KNOW you should be correcting it.. but your pump disagrees (at least for the time being)? It happens pretty often. At first I thought maybe it was because I was getting that first hypo within the 2 hour post meal window. And the pump wanted to give my body time to adjust and come back down. But it’s also happened outside of that window.

Open to thoughts/suggestions/comments……

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Corrections

  1. Scott E says:

    Insulin-on-Board (called “Active Insulin” by Medtronic). When at 227, you probably had enough active insulin to cover the calculated correction for the 227 (if you go through the bolus process, look at the “Estimate Details” screen. As you scroll to the bottom, you’ll see an amount calculated for “Correction”, and below that an amount of “Active Ins”. On the Medtronic, the Active Insulin is subtracted from the Correction, so your total insulin needed is zero. The pump works on the assumption that you’ve already taken the insulin for the high and it just hasn’t finished working yet (other pumps differ).

    After 30 minutes, your Active Insulin is lower, as it’s a half-hour past the time of your last bolus. Plus, your BG is higher. Now, if you look at the Estimate Details screen, you might still see a number in the Correction field as well as the Active Ins field, but the correction is higher, and what it recommends for you is the difference.

    In a case like this, I’d tend to override the estimate and give a little more. Especially if you’re going up in those last 30 minutes, the food is still working harder than the insulin at that point and it’s unlikely that the active insulin will be enough to completely do the job. Make sense?

    Only four weeks left? Already? How exciting!!

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks, Scott! I’ll pay more attention to it the next time it happens to check for the Active Insulin (I did know about that – but stupidly hadn’t factored that into this … ) And yep, the c-section is scheduled for April 25th, so unless they decide to make their appearance before then… we’ve now got a date to shoot for 🙂 I’ll make sure to let the DOC know when they’ve arrived 🙂

  2. Katie says:

    I just started on the OmniPod and my pump educator had me enter ranges into the target BG, not a specific number. Do you know the rational behind just putting a number in? I’ll try to remember to bring this up at my next appointment.

    • Shannon says:

      It’s been a debate around the “community” for a while now from what I understand. But from Gary’s perspective, having a range (e.g. 100-120) is like trying to hit a moving target. Whereas if you have a number (e.g. 120) you’re aiming for a bullseye. Does that help at all?

  3. Echoing Scott E’s thoughts on insulin on board.

  4. Katy says:

    I like having a target better too—we enter a target of 110, but then tell the pump to correct for + or – 20. So really that’s like entering a range of 90-130. So I don’t know if that would count as a target instead of a range!

    Looking forward to baby pictures!!

  5. Hi Shannon,

    I really admire your personal and engaging voice. I just wanted to say thank you for sharing your story.

    I’ve taken a look through your website and we think you’ve done a fantastic job in covering topics that our brand’s audience of expecting mothers would be interested in reading. It would be great if you could join our community to feature your blog entries.

    If you would like to learn more about this, please send an email to info at atomicreach.com.

    Sincerely,
    Tina

Leave a Reply

