OJ .. here goes nothin’

Before I was diabetic … I used to drink milk and orange juice pretty frequently. After the big Dx (diagnosis) those were quickly added to the category of things that raise my blood sugar and are consumed in very little quantities, if at all. Especially orange juice.

If you’d ask any diabetic, he/she would likely view OJ as a treatment for low blood sugar, rather than an enjoyable Vitamin-C loaded beverage one might enjoy with his/her breakfast.

In fact, when I think of OJ, the first thing that comes to mind is the one time I did black out (which is pretty good odds that it’s only happened once in over 20 yrs) because of low blood sugars … and I “woke up” standing in my kitchen, leaning against a wall, with a jug of OJ in my hand. I’m assuming I had managed to drink some of it, seeing as how I was at that point somewhat coherent again .. but I digress.

My OB told me a couple of months ago that I should start taking iron supplements because my iron levels were a little lower than she’d like. I did. Then last week I had more blood work done, and my iron was even lower than it was before, even though I’d been on the supplements for a couple of months already. *sigh* I did some reading and found that the optimal way to take the iron pill is in the morning, with food (which I’d not been doing) and to drink it with orange juice because the citrus helps it absorb. My immediate response was “Well I’m screwed, because I can’t drink OJ!” Then I remembered how many times I’ve told people (either via my blog or verbally) that just ’cause I’m diabetic, doesn’t mean I can’t eat/drink anything I want (within reason, of course.) But I hadn’t realized until then that I was almost scared to drink OJ …. it’s always been equivalent to a high powered glucose tablet for me – never to be consumed unless treating low BG’s.

But I know how important it is to raise my iron levels … I’m only 4-5 weeks (max) from delivering these twins .. so I need to do something sooner than later. A friend asked me if I’d tried Trop50 which is low sugar OJ. I told her “It’s not the sugar I need to pay attention to, it’s the carbs” (I think I’ll make stickers or t-shirts that say that.. one of these days.) 😉

But sure enough, when I looked at the bottle of it at the store this week, it only has 13g of carbs per 8 oz serving- which for OJ is not bad at all.

So I bought a bottle, and yesterday I drank it for the first time. And lemme tell you …. It was weird. I felt like I was doing something “wrong” and that any minute, my sugars were going to sky rocket. But they didn’t. I had also made a piece of peanut butter toast, and carefully calculated and measured every carb in both the pb toast and 8 oz glass of OJ.

But there was definitely that 20 yr stigma associated with it … it wasn’t enjoyable – it didn’t taste “bad” at all but in my mind, it was like drinking medicine (for me). I’m hoping I can get past that, because not only is the Vitamin-C going to be good for me … if it helps absorb those iron supplements, I’m going to make myself down an 8 oz glass every morning. At least till these babies get here. 🙂

OJ

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to OJ .. here goes nothin’

  1. Katie says:

    It would be so werid to drink OJ in any other circumstance other than for the purpose of raising a low BG. Glad they make a lower carb version!

  2. StephenS says:

    Now you can look forward to that 8 oz. glass every day:) Just don’t tell the diabetes police.

  3. Raising my hand about feeling weird about drinking OJ just to drink it. 🙂

  4. Karen says:

    The only way I drink orange juice is if it’s in a mimosa – to me the champagne makes it bolus worthy. LOL Keep us posted on if the Trop50 continues to be bg friendly – we could all probably use a little more Vitamin C in our lives (without the champagne – tee hee).

    • Shannon says:

      I’ve honestly never even had a mimosa, simply from being gun shy of drinking the orange juice. It sounds so silly now that I’ve realized it … but I’ll definitely let you know how it goes with the Trop50! 🙂

  5. Scott E says:

    Several months ago (when EVERYONE seemed to be fighting colds) I had a conversation with a DOC’er who was drinking Trop50 to replenish her Vitamin C supply. Personally, I’m with you… after some harsh words from my pediatric endo thirty years ago, OJ has become “taboo” in my life. I just don’t touch the stuff. Personally, I’d like to keep that mindset, as wrong as it may be, for fear of becoming addicted to OJ. (BTW, I take a 500mg Vitamin C tablet every morning, just as a precaution).

    To your “black out” experience, I had one of those. Back when I lived alone, I remember “waking up” one time on the floor of the kitchen, refrigerator door open, apple juice spilled on the floor (and myself), and a nice bump on the back of my head. I can only piece-together the events leading up to it– I must’ve been low and gone to the fridge for some juice (straight from the jar, of course), and collapsed on the floor, hitting my head on the counter opposite the fridge. Different juice, same scary story.

    • Shannon says:

      I’m finding everyone’s feedback about OJ being “taboo” very interesting… I really thought it was just me :/ Reassuring to know its not just me 🙂

      Those black out moments are scary. And I, too, apparently was drinking straight from the jug. Apparently I had enough sense to get TO the fridge and juice so the glass at that point was the least of my concerns. 🙂

  6. I know I’ve got low iron levels (but I’m not preggie like you) – didn’t realise that there is a low carb version of OJ sold – just my luck – it’s an American thing – but will go to the big box store next time and look for it. I’m like the rest of the D’s here – it’s usually just for lows (I’d rather have that extra piece of toast or jam in the AM then sacrifice carbs for juice – or just eat an OJ fresh – which spikes us less). Oh the things we have to do to stay in the BG zone – ovey!!!! Scream !!!!

  7. Sara says:

    When I was diagnosed my dietician basically SAID no juice except for lows. She said if I wanted fruit, have a piece of fruit… but no juice.

Leave a Reply

