One Year Blogaversary

Today marks one year since I posted my first blog. I can’t believe it’s only been a year! I feel like I’ve been a part of this community (DOC) for way longer than that already.

I had a friend point me to Kerri’s blog last year, and I started reading it every day. After a month or so, I had another friend tell me that I should try writing a blog – and I figured why not? All I’m doing is talking about living with diabetes 24/7/365. Not too interesting, but I figured what the heck, so I signed up for a url (used my JDRF team name “No More Shots for Shannon”) and posted my first blog.

It was a slow start… mainly just family and friends were reading it. Then I started joining the Wednesday night DSMA chats and more people found my blog.

In a conversation with my friend Scott last month at a conference.. he brought up a some very good points. He said that it’s therapeutic to blog. And that is very true – there have been so many times that I’ve had a bummer endo appt, for example, and I blog about it, read my friends’ encouraging comments and I DO feel better.

And he also said that what I’m going through today .. could be something that someone else is going through tomorrow. I get comments and emails from people all over the world telling me that they needed to read whatever that was I said in that post, and I can’t even explain how that makes me feel – to know that I touched someone. And especially being pregnant (with twins!)- I’ve received a lot of comments/emails about that, women telling me how encouraged they are to know that they themselves CAN have a healthy pregnancy, and also moms telling me how hearing my story of 2 healthy pregnancies encourages them that their T1D daughter can have a healthy pregnancy one day. I only wish I’d known someone back when I was a teenager receiving my dx who could have encouraged me in that way.

And I’ve said this many times .. but it still holds true – that my life has changed in so many ways since I started blogging. I am way more in control of my diabetes than I’ve ever been. I am way more aware of my diabetes and on top of things. My A1Cis lower than it’s been in … as long as I can remember. And frankly, all of those factors play into how healthy I’ve been during this pregnancy .. I have no doubt.

And the #1 thing that blogging as done for me.. it holds me accountable. It helps me feel normal. I no longer feel like I’m the only person living with this. Before blogging, I only knew a couple of other diabetics.. but nobody that I was super “close” with. Now I have made connections with people all over the country/world and I can’t even put into words how that makes me feel and how therapeutic THAT has been for me. So, thank you to all of my friends out there …. for having my back, giving suggestions/advice, and most of all for just being there and “getting it”. There is a reason each one of us live with this disease. Even if that’s just so we cross paths with people that we otherwise would not have known.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to One Year Blogaversary

  1. Scott E says:

    Shannon, I’m so glad you’ve been writing this blog and that it’s helped both others and yourself. Thanks for giving us a glimpse into your life – the ups and downs, the meetings and encounters, and your personal thoughts. But most of all, thanks for being a friend.

    • Shannon says:

      Right back atcha, Scott. I so look forward to reading your blog (even though I don’t get to reply nearly as much as I used to!) and you’ve given me some of the soundest advice over the last year – appreciate all of it and thank YOU!

  2. Mike Hoskins says:

    Happy blogaversary!

  3. I am so glad to have your voice in the mix, Shannon! Besides helping you directly, we may never know the ripple of how you have helped others through your writing. Keep telling your story! There’s someone out there who needs to hear it. 🙂

  4. Karen says:

    Have I really only been reading your blog for a year?? Seems like I’ve known you longer (in a good way) and I can’t imagine the DOC without you!! Here’s to many more!!

    • Shannon says:

      Aw thanks, Karen! You’re (as usual) too kind 🙂 And yep, it’s only been a year … but it’s honestly so hard to remember things PRE-DOC 🙂 I’m thankful to be a part of this “group” and for all of your friendships!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

