No age limit

I volunteer in the nursery at our church, and we have two twin toddler boys in my class that are relatively new. A couple of weeks ago, the Director of the nursery area mentioned to me that the boys have a 3 yr old brother who is diabetic, and wears an insulin pump like mine. So of course my curiosity was peaked. Unfortunately, since that day, I hadn’t seen the parents again (one of the twins had tubes put in so they’d been out.) But yesterday, I finally saw them.

I was standing in line to pick up my son and behind me, I hear, “Come here, honey.. let’s check your blood sugar.” So I of course immediately turned around to see who it was speaking my language πŸ˜‰

It was the parents of the aforementioned little boy.

So I went up to the mom (she recognized me, because as I mentioned her two toddler twin boys are in my class) and I told her, “Hi, I’d heard that J wears an insulin pump, so I just wanted to say hi, and tell him that I also wore one.” The mom was so excited. She said, “Look, J, Miss Shannon wears an insulin pump just like yours!” He wears the Medtronic like mine, but his is blue and mine’s purple. πŸ˜‰ J becames fascinated with me all of a sudden … he came over and in his itty bitty 3 yr old voice asked me, “Do you have an infusion set, too?” I said, “yes, sir, I sure do!” He started to lift up my shirt, and asked me where it was. πŸ™‚ So I was able to redirect him to tell him that my infusion set is in my thigh, and I put his hand on it and asked if he can feel it. “He said, “Yeah, I can!” Then he quickly became distracted with my ever growing belly (something else I have in common with this family now – twins.) I found it both sad and cute that he and I had the conversation about infusion sets.

The mom seemed so excited to have someone to talk to. So we had the typical conversation of newly introduced D’s – when were you diagnosed, how old were you, etc. Little J was 1 1/2 .. Mom said that she knew something wasn’t “right” but the dr’s couldn’t figure it out. Once they finally received their diagnosis, they moved the family from Tennesee to Dallas so they could have a better pediatrician.

Mom told me that she was initially very scared to start pump therapy, but in the end she’s so glad she did it because it’s so much easier to control and you can give such smaller doses of insulin. She said there is no such thing as a “free carb” for J. That even one gram of carb shoots up his sugars, and even one unit of insulin will bottom him out. So with the pump, she’s able to find that “happy medium” that works most of the time (any of us know that there is no formula that works every time, but we shoot for at least getting the target the majority of the time.)

As I walked down the hall with my new friend, J, mom was so excited and talkative .. she gave me pointers on twins, on having 3 boys, and told me to look her up on Facebook, but said that we’ll definitely talk more. I told her that if she needed anything at all, to let me know. I know for me at least, if I was a D mom .. I’d feel a tad bit better knowing there was someone that “gets it” right down the hall that could help out if needed …

Like my friend, Scott, says it’s always awesome when we have encounters in the wild. πŸ˜‰ Regardless of age — Diabetes does not discriminate.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to No age limit

  1. Karen says:

    Our family was eating at a restaurant this weekend and were seated next to the salad bar. My daughter noticed that a girl (she was about 16 years old, I guess) that was standing fixing her salad had a pump (we were close enough to see that hers was a Medtronic; my daughter’s is an Animas) and we tried to encourage our daughter to speak to her. She was too shy to make the move..but we have encountered 2 others “in the wild” before (both Animas-wearers) and struck up conversations on her behalf. She is 7.. so I hope that as she gets a little older she will feel more comfortable with initiating conversation. It is so great to meet others…an instant connection!

    • Shannon says:

      She’ll get there πŸ™‚ I had one a few weeks ago, too, with a 17 year old girl. The mom was very encouraged to see that I was pregnant and have had so far 2 successful pregnancies. It’s a great feeling πŸ™‚

  2. Scott E says:

    This is a heck of a story Shannon! I love the child’s innocence (he’s too young for it to be inappropriate) in trying to lift your shirt to see the infusion set. You handled it well.

    He’s not the only kid, unfortunately, that I know of to be diagnosed at about 18 months. The title of this post says it all. I don’t want to call it tragic, but it definitely is something that nobody wishes for. I’m glad to see that Mom’s appears to be handling it so well.

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks, Scott – and yea, I didn’t find it inappropriate at all that he tried to lift my shirt to find the infusion set… his mom said his legs are too small to wear his sites there, so his natural reaction was to assume mine must be in my belly. Totally get that. She nicely told him that “we don’t touch other people’s infusion sets or pumps” – that was after he started pushing buttons on my pump. πŸ˜‰ Again, he wasn’t doing any harm.. she said he figured out how to unlock his within the first hour of wearing his pump!

  3. Aww, how sweet, and heartbreaking.

    I think these connections go far beyond just the social niceties. Like you said, they were speaking your language — which means you also speak theirs. πŸ™‚

    • Shannon says:

      Those two words perfectly sum it up – sweet and heartbreaking. I’m sure I’ll have many more opportunities to talk to little J, now that his mom knows I also “speak the language” πŸ˜‰

  4. Sara says:

    I bet the parents feel a little extra relief leaving him in the church nursery too πŸ™‚

  5. StephenS says:

    I can’t say any more than I dig this story. It’s good that this mom has someone like you in their lives.

  6. Pingback: February Presents: Best ‘Betes Blogs | A Consequence of Hypoglycemia.

Leave a Reply

