Good to the last drop

Humalog vs Novolog

So yesterday I finally made the switch from Humalog to Novolog. I milked every last drop out of that Humalog vial. And it was a bittersweet site change. If you’ve kept up with my blog, you know that the reason I switched was because my insurance is no longer covering Humalog, and now only covers Novolog and Apidra. Apidra is still relatively new, so we went with Novolog. I’d been on Humalog for as long as I can remember.. back in the early days, I took Regular, but that’s the only other fast acting insulin I’ve ever taken (in 20 yrs).

The frustrating thing is that ever since the switch … I have been running high. My lowest BG in the last 20 hours since switching has been 140. I am hovering around 175-220. New site, new insulin… urgh. I am pregnant with twins, so I know that hormones and the babies can be factoring into that ..but my numbers were great the last few days … so I can’t help but wonder if I’m just now responding as well to Novolog? Which if that’s the case… it’s really going to stink.

I’m going to give it a couple of days and log like crazy. I’ve been counting every single carb, and not SWAG’ing it, just so I can get a true account of my numbers…. so fingers are crossed that we can turn this around SOON. Hopefully it just needs some time to adjust. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Good to the last drop

  1. Good luck with the switch – maybe you’re high from the anxiety of switching? For what it’s worth, I didn’t experience anything different when my insurance made me switch (in the exact opposite direction).

    Keep us posted!

  2. StephenS says:

    Sounds like your body is just being stubborn, whatever that means. Novolog has been pretty steady for me for around 3 years now. But I don’t have the Humalog experience to compare it to. Good luck.

  3. Sara says:

    I had really bad tails with Humalog. I’ve been using Apidra for maybe 5-6 years now. It’s not approved during pregnancy yet, but maybe you can switch when you are done?

  4. Our insurance went the other way. Ive recieved our latest order of insulin and it is a purple and white box vs what I have known (orange and white box) for the last 6 years. We still have 3 bottles of nova so we haven’t made the switch yet. Ive heard huma has a slower start and a longer tail but then again YDMV (Bennet). Ill let ya know what we find. Two kids could mean two totally different results. Hoping Nova and you get along in the end.

    • Shannon says:

      It’s getting better. My boss offered to try to push through an override to let me continue on Humalog until the end of the pregnancy at least … but over the weekend I seemed to have hit a groove with the Novalog and it’s much better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

