It’s been a good run …

Not in the literal sense of course. I don’t run many any places these days 😉

I am however, referring to my longtime pal, Humalog. Tonight, I opened my last vial of my trusted life support. My insurance is no longer covering Humalog, so I will now be switching over to Novolog, which I’ve never used before. When I went to my Endo appointment last week, I told him I’d opened my last vial that morning and asked if he could spot me a bottle before I left for DC to attend the CWD Tech Conference (more on the conference later) because I didn’t want to make the switch right before leaving to go out of state.

I honestly hate that insurance companies can decide what we can/cannot take. This is our LIFE SUPPORT, people. We should be able to take what we know works for us, not because the insurance company works a deal with a particular manufacturer. The same thing happened with my meter – I had to switch from my trusty Freestyle to a new meter. That’s not AS big of a deal but it’s the principle 😉

So, I’ll use up what’s left of this vial and I’m sure it’ll be bittersweet as I bolus for the last time in a couple of days. I’ve heard lots of feedback on Humalog vs Novolog, and it seems that most people feel it’ll be a smooth transition. So I’m hoping it’s as easy as that for me.

Bye bye for now, Humalog .. I hope we get to meet again soon one day.

Humalog

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It’s been a good run …

  1. Tim Brand says:

    Sorry you have to switch. We just changed our youngest dkid to humalog alonf with new sites. We have finally stablized her nunbers. It would not be good to switch her back. Nice post.

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks for the comment! I’m kinda stubborn .. as you might be able to tell. But I’m also about to enter into my 3rd trimester (w/ twins) so I’m not really excited about having to change insulins right now. Fingers crossed for a smooth transition!!

  2. Scott E says:

    I have to agree with you. Not only is it absolutely abhorrent that they are making you switch, but to do so at this time – in the third trimester of pregnancy – is plain irresponsible (on their part, not yours). I can understand treating things like meters and test strips as commodities; they’re pretty much the same; but Novolog and Humalog are prescription drugs, and they are DIFFERENT, down to the fundamental mechanisms (which I don’t understand) that makes them work . One is not simply a generic version of the other.

    I know I should probably be saying something inspirational, telling you everything will be alright (and I honestly believe it will be), but reading about the “choices” being imposed, the reasons for them, and the timing just makes me so ANGRY!

  3. GeorgieP says:

    I think it’s horrible that you guys have a health system that forces you to change, leaves you crazily out of pocket etc. 😦 Damn insurance companies!! They don’t seem to be there to help, do they? x

  4. StephenS says:

    Shannon, I’m right there with you, though I’m a Novolog user right now. The difference in the cost (at least the retail cost) is minimal, so I’m guessing your insurance plan just has a deal with Novo Nordisk and not with Lilly. And if that’s all it is, that sucks. Adds a different spin to “managed care”.

    • Shannon says:

      Good to hear from you, Stephen! And yes, that’s what happened I’m sure. I will no longer have a copay at all wihle using Novolog, but if I chose to stay on Humalog, I’d have to pay 100% of the cost, and that’s just not feasible. Tried pleading my case and pulling the pregnancy card … but no luck. I’ll figure out what works, though – hoping it’ll just be a 1:1 change and I won’t even notice a difference 🙂

  5. Yeah, I hate when changes are forced by insurance. I know some people notice a lot of difference between brands, but I didn’t notice any changes. Hope your experience is the same.

  6. Pingback: Conservation | No More Shots for Shannon

Leave a Reply

