CWD Tech Conference- Here I come!

Let me preface this post by admitting that I am a big ol’ dork. I know and admit that. And having said that …. I wanted to say how super duper excited I am to finally meet some of my DOC friends in real life (IRL) next weekend!

I’m going to be traveling to DC for work, and after the trip had been booked, my friend Karen posted on Facebook asking who all was going to be attending the CWD Technology Conference in DC — which just so happened to be the weekend before I flew out there! So I made some calls, and was able to change my flight (saved my company tons of money by flying in earlier- double score!) and I was able to still register for the conference!

I found the DOC March of 2012.. and I’ve said this before, but since then, my life has changed – for the better. I am SO much more aware of my diabetes, and am in much better control (sheesh, the simple fact that I’m having a so far extremely healthy pregnancy carrying TWINS right now is proof of that!) than I’ve ever been. And to now “know” people like me that live with this disease every single day 24/7 like I do … it’s just nothing I’ve ever known/experienced before, and it’s not really something you can explain to someone unless they’re also living it.

So, to those of you that will be in DC next weekend – I cannot wait to meet you all IRL and thanks for making me feel “normal”! 🙂 Oh and I’m also excited about learning new things at the conference – That’s the real purpose of it, right?? 😉

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to CWD Tech Conference- Here I come!

  1. April Lowery says:

    OK, well, I’m new here to your blog. Straight from the Loop! I, too was diagnosed with Type 1 at age 17, and am on a pump with a CGM. I have given birth to 2 healthy boys (now 8 and 5), and we are trying for one more. We have had our ups and downs, including 3 miscarriages (but my sugars were perfect!). So, I’ll be following along…but what is DOC?

  2. Katie says:

    I’m right there with you! Discovered the DOC in June/July of 2012 and it has completely changed my life. My A1c has improved by 1.4 because of all the encouragement, knowledge and support I get from all my DOC friends. I’ve also started blogging and I will attend my first conference this May in Raleigh, NC. I cannot wait!!!

    • Shannon says:

      That’s awesome, Katie!! For SO many years I felt like I was the only one loving with this disease…(even though I obviously knew I wasn’t) but I didn’t KNOW anyone living it 24/7 like me. So thankful for the friend’s I’ve made, and the lessons I’ve learned! 🙂 And congrats on your first conference–I attended my first real one last year. So excited to attend the one this weekend in DC! 🙂

  3. Yay! Can’t wait to meet you in real life, too!

  4. Karen says:

    I’m ridiculously excited about this weekend (although not so much so for packing and the long ride down). And I’m so super excited to MEET YOU!!!! Yay!

  5. Pingback: CWD Tech Conference- Here I come! | No More Shots for Shannon | Alpha Channel

Leave a Reply

