Misleading ads

There is a commercial that plays (too) often on the radio for a weight loss program. And it irks me every time I hear it. It starts off by asking “Do you have diabetes?” So sometimes I will answer (to myself) “Why yes, yes I do.” 🙂 And then it goes on to say “Do you want to reverse your diabetes?” (And you know where this is going now …. ) and says that if you have this particular weight loss procedure done, you can REVERSE your diabetes. Wow – if it were only that easy, right???

Then they start interviewing people. One guy comes on and says that he’s lost xxx lbs and he’s not taking any of his diabetes medications anymore. It’s a miracle! And so on, and so forth with more interviews.

But it never once says that it only applies to Type 2 diabetes. You cannot “reverse” Type 1 (yes, you can have a pancreas transplant in extreme cases, but that’s a whole separate conversation.)

So I listen to this commercial every day and I wonder about any newly diagnosed Type 1’s, or those that know a T1, out there that might actually think, “Wow if I/my loved one, would only have this procedure.. I/they could REVERSE my/their diabetes???”

Trust me .. if there was a quick and easy “procedure” that could reverse this thing…. I don’t think there are many of us that wouldn’t choose to do it.

But it’s not that simple.

For those of us with Type 1, we have an actual organ that does not function. Our pancreas has gone kaput. It no longer produces insulin and therefore we need to inject a synthetic version of it manually, multiple times a day, in order to continue living.

Type 2 diabetes is often (although not always) related to weight, thyroid issues, etc. And it is a HUGE misconception that people who are overweight can just lose weight and automatically stop taking their meds. Yes that is true in some cases.. but not all. So please do not ever judge someone for having Type 2. And I can’t tell you how many times I’ve personally been asked (and have seen others post about being asked) “Oh, so you have the bad kind of diabetes then?” *sigh* There is no such thing as a “good” kind of diabetes.

But back to the radio commercial .. I’ve thought about writing a letter and asking them to reword their advertisement. It’s pretty misleading and a little offensive. Because I have yet to hear it and not think/say to myself “I wish I COULD reverse my diabetes.”

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Misleading ads

  1. K says:

    I KNOW!!! My daughter was diagnosed last year at age 6 1/2. Someone thoughtfully gave us a subscription to Diabetic Living magazine. It is geared toward Type 2 ..so the recipes may be lower in sugar but still pretty carb-packed. And the ads are all similar to that commercial…definitely referring to Type 2 but NOWHERE does it say that. Should have been named totally different names.

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks for the comment! And you gotta love the Readers Digest covers that always talk about reversing diabetes… I’m surprised they can get away with that 😦

Leave a Reply

