22 weeks

Each week (on Thursday) I get a notification from Babycenter.com telling me what’s going on with my babies that week.  This morning’s struck a cord with me, as I got the 22 week update –

 “Inside his belly, his pancreas — essential for the production of some important hormones — is developing steadily.” ~Babycenter.com

For those unaware, the “important hormone” mentioned is insulin.  Something that my own pancreas stopped producing over 20 years ago, and I have been injecting myself with a synthetic version of this hormone every day since October 17, 1992.  I started out giving myself 4-5 shots every day, and then have been on an insulin pump for the last 5 1/2 years, when I was pregnant with my first son. (I also wore the pump for about 18 months while in college.)

Every diabetic that is a parent has a fear of passing on our disease on to our children.  Every time they ask for an excessive amount of water. Or every time they seem to be going to the bathroom “too much”.  Or whenever they are sick and lethargic.  We are uber aware of these “signs”.  So as I read today’s update, all I could do is say a quick prayer to please let my sons’ pancreases be developing normally, and please let theirs work better than their mommy’s does.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 22 weeks

  1. Scott E says:

    I know you’re not a first-time parent and you’ve already been through the emotions that come with a tired or thirsty child, so I’ll just make this wish that these developing organs have the strength to stand up to, and defend themselves from, a bully immune system.

  2. Echoing Scott E.’s well wishes!

Leave a Reply

