Random D Talk

I love being out and about and talking to a fellow diabetic .. that may sound weird (well, to anyone who is NOT diabetic probably) but there’s an immediate kinship/bond there.  I was doing some last minute shopping the other day, and as I was walking through PetSmart to find my cat a stocking (hey don’t judge.. and by the way, I never found one) I saw a girl, maybe 20ish walking by and she had a green Animas Ping hooked to her front pocket. In the very place I had my stylish purple Medtronic pump hooked. 🙂

So I said, “That’s an Animas, right?” (Duh, I already knew that .. but I’ve never been accused of being a good conversation starter lol) and she smiled and said, “Yes! Do you have diabetes, too? For how long?” It was like we’d known each other forever.  I told her I’d had it for 20 yrs in October; she’s on 7 1/2 years.  About 2 minutes into our conversation, another woman walked up and asked me, “Do you have diabetes, too?” I said, “Yes, I do.” It was the girl’s mom, and and it turns out I (sorta) knew the mom. She was the elementary school coach where my step daughter went to school a few years ago.

She immediately saw that I was pregnant and asked if this was my first pregnancy with diabetes. I said,  “No, I was diagnosed in 1992, one month before my 18th birthday, and I was pregnant in 2007 and delivered my perfectly healthy baby boy in 2008.”  She lit up.  I told her my story about being told in that first dx hospital stay that I’d never be able to have children. And she said she’s sure I must be watched like a hawk, but that it was very encouraging to see someone that’s had it for as long as I have, and still having a healthy pregnancy (even with twins this go around!)   I told her that I have to be way more diligent, because it’s not just about me anymore.. I have two little babies in there that 100% depend on me to eat/do the right things for these 9 months.

We talked about the differences between Animas and Medtronic. I told her I’d tried switching to Animas for a short time but it wasn’t for me (YDMV) and they were very happy with it. It’s all a matter of personal preference.

We also shared the names of our Endocrinologists.  She’d been seen at Children’s until she turned 18 and then was sent off to find a new one – she’s really happy with hers. Mine is “meh” … I wish I’d thought to write down the name of hers, but I may be able to track it down by process of elimination.

When we finally said our “It was nice to you’s” and “Good byes” I left that store with a smile (even though I didn’t find the stocking lol).  I am always encouraged when, even for a few minutes, I can be helpful or encouraging to someone else living with diabetes.  I have had so many friends that have known me for a long time, tell me how much they’ve learned about the disease (and me), since reading my blog.  And that right there is so worth it.  I never intended or wanted to be an example of someone living with a disease.. but I was dealt this hand a long time ago. And it’s up to me to use it for good. So that’s exactly what I am trying to do. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Random D Talk

  1. Scott E says:

    What a great story! I’m not sure how old this girl was, but I’ll imagine you left a lasting impression on them… one filled with hope and optimism.

  2. I agree with Scott. And you sure made an impression on the mother. I’m sure she was glad to hear your 1st pregnacy went well and this go around is good too. She probably thinks about her daughter’s ability to have children and she was happy to see it can happen.

  3. Nice! I love encounters in the wild!

Leave a Reply

