Showers

I think I’ve noticed something lately … and I was curious how this affects other pumpers.

I’m on the Medtronic (Quick Set) and so when I shower in the mornings, I disconnect and suspend my pump.  My husband might disagree 😉 but I take a fairly quick shower.
But there are some mornings that I don’t automatically reconnect – there are always other factors involved … how quickly I get dressed afterwards (and therefore have a place to hook my pump) or if my 4 year old needs something … it varies.

But I’m probably disconnected on average around 20-30 minutes.  There have been some mornings that I’ve actually forgotten to reconnect right away, or have just had those distractions mentioned above, and I’ve noticed my BG is a little higher than usual when I test for breakfast.

I’ve never aimed for a certain time to stay disconnected … but I was wondering if any of you try to give yourself a limit?  Lately I’m trying to not go more than 30 minutes.

There have been times when I’ve been at the beach, or water parks, etc, and I’ve stayed disconnected for longer, but there are obviously other factors involved (exercise, etc) that can play into my BG’s.

Poll:  How long are you comfortable staying disconnected for showers before you start noticing a rising BG?

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Showers

  1. My doctor told me when I’m disconnected to check my sugar every 30 mins. I try not to go longer than 30 mins myself and reconnect asap. I have gone longer and noticed higher sugars later.

  2. Sara says:

    I think I wrote a post once about needing a shower bolus. I know I don’t miss THAT much basal but I think missing that insulin combined with our dawn phenomenon is just too much!

  3. PancreasticMom says:

    Usually about 30 mins. I use the temp basal feature so that I don’t forget to undo the suspend..and also so that the pump doesn’t “sing” the “I’m suspended” song. Have just begun to bolus before shower thanks to suggestion of “Diabetic Danica” on YouTube…whom my 7yr old t1d daughter( the one whose pump I am temp-basal-ing) gets a real kick out of:). We had noticed post-shower highs. Don’t know why I hadn’t thought of it before:)

  4. Here’s where I admit to not paying close enough attention to realize if it matters or not. For what it’s worth, my trusty old Cozmo pump has a “disconnect” feature that helps replace missed basal insulin for situations just like this (it gives a little before disconnecting and a little after, all controlled and programmed by the user).

Leave a Reply

