Random D places

I was traveling with work recently, and as I got to the TSA rep, about to go through security, I looked at my drivers license and realized it had expired 4 days earlier on my birthday. OOPS.   I was planning to play the “I’m pregnant and forgot” card, as well as the “I am old and need to be reminded these days” card 😉

I got to the agent and she noticed it was expired, but she let me through anyway (whew!).  Luckily my husband was meeting me at the destination and I’d caught him in time to bring my passport to use on the flight home.

This week I went to finally renew my expired drivers license.  (In the state of Texas, you can renew it online, but only every other time .. and unfortunately, I’d done it online last time.. so I had to go into their DPS office this time.)  As I was filling out my application/questionnaire, I came to this question:

DL app

I don’t know why, but when I first saw this question, it really bothered me.  I immediately got defensive (with myself, because all of this was going on in my head.)  I was thinking “What business is it of yours if I’m an insulin dependent diabetic? That has nothing to do with my ability to drive!”

But then I started remembering stories I’d heard – of strangers and acquaintences – who have had instances where their diabetes had impeded their driving.  So I backed off my soap box.   But found it interesting that my initial thought was to be defensive.

Probably in the same way I don’t wear my glasses in when I take the eye exam for my license.  I do wear glasses (started wearing them 6 mos before my dx – go figure!) but I don’t want to be told that I have to wear them, and have the restriction on my license.

Thought this was blog worthy to point out that my diabetes manages to work its way into every day random things like filling out a drivers license renewal application. 😉

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Random D places

  1. Scott E says:

    It really shouldn’t matter if your license is expired. The point is to prove that you are who you say you are, and that doesn’t change every four years. Your qualifications to drive are really irrelevant at that point. Of course, given the inconsistency of TSA agents, I wouldn’t necessarily take that chance.

    As for the question, yeah, it’s always disturbing to go down and check everything in the “No” column except for that single question. I suppose they do have a right to ask given the potential for things to go wrong (though in the three states I’ve lived in: New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania, they’ve never asked me — nor do I want them to). Did they follow up further with it, or is it just being kept in a record somewhere?

    Once when I got my license renewed, they forgot to put the indication for “wears corrective lenses” (it had already been printed and laminated, and they just didn’t want to do it over), and when I brought it to their attention, he told me to leave it that way — so if I’m taking a short drive without my glasses or contacts and get pulled over, the police won’t hassle me for that. (Note that with my vision, that would NEVER happen! I can’t see anything without my lenses)

  2. Sara says:

    I tried to go as long as I possibly could without having it say anything about my glasses on my license. I wear them every moment I am awake but it just makes me feel old or something.

    When I was answering the list of questions for my Florida license they asked if I was an insulin dependent diabetic. I am, so I said yes. I didn’t have to take any extra tests or anything so I didn’t really mind. I’m glad it’s on my license but I guess I’d probably feel differently if it was harder to get my license because of it.

Leave a Reply

