Doin’ the Shake

This week I am 20 weeks pregnant (with twin boys)…. and still haven’t gained a single pound. :/  So my dr suggested I “drink my calories” if I have to.   He suggested Ensure, but I looked at those and they have 50-60 carbs PER shake! And they’re only 8ish oz bottles. That’s a lot of carbs (which equates to a lot of insulin).. Yes, I will do whatever necessary to make my babies grow … but surely there has to be an alternative?

At my Endo appointment this week, I asked him about it and he suggested Glucerna. It’ll still have 200 calories per bottle, but only 27 carbs. MUCH better.  So my very thoughtful hubby bought some for me last night while he was at the store.  I brought one to work today to try …

Glucerna

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It says on the bottle “Delicious shake designed for people with diabetes”.  And below that “To help minimize blood sugar spikes”.

How does it minimize blood sugar spikes? And are there certain times of the day that you should drink it in order to minimize said spikes? Not sure if that’s a marketing ploy or what …. but I’m willing to give it a shot if it can add some calories to my diet (something you never hear a woman say!)

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Doin’ the Shake

  1. Scott E says:

    To soften blood sugar spikes, you need a lot of fat or a lot of protein — I suspect it’s protein in this drink and not fat.

    If you need to add calories without carbs, I’d suggest loading up on the fats and proteins (assuming you don’t have cholesterol worries). You may need to bolus slightly for the protein, but it should help with weight gain.

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks, Scott! I have been eating more nuts, too, to try to get the “good fats” and some more protein. I do have high cholesterol (not TOO high, but it could be lower) and I can’t take my meds for it, because the Ace inhibitors are not good for the babies.

  2. How was the shake? Did it affect your sugars much? Good luck getting the calories you need!

  3. Sara says:

    I used to drink those (but only the chocolate flavor). They gave me a bit of a stomach ache though… probably because they “sit” in there for quite a while. As long as you don’t have that – go for it!

Leave a Reply

