Nano vs Lite

I’ve used the Freestyle Lite meter for years, and due to recent insurance changes, I had to switch, so now I’m using the Accu-Chek Nano.   Thought I’d give a quick recap/review of my experience so far, now that I’ve been using the new meter for a couple of weeks.

Overall I like the size of it, it’s very comparable in size to the Freestyle – it fits into my same little cupcake pouch I’ve been using (shout out, Karen!)  But I have found features that are different from what I’m used to -not saying they are bad features, just different.

First, there is quite a discrepancy between the meters (which can be normal, when switching meters). Freestyle vs Nano

I tested with both meters for the first few days, and it was pretty consistent to have about a 20ish pt difference each reading.

Second, yes, the screen lights up and is very easy to read. It actually lights up as soon as you put the strip in.  But the Freestyle can also light up in the strip area which was very nice when doing a late night test- you can actually see your finger to make sure it’s lined up with the strip. We’ve all wasted strips from not getting the full sample on there correctly :/

Third, with my Freestyle, if I squeezed my finger to get that drop of blood and it was smaller than I needed (hey, after 20 years sometimes the fingers dry up every now and then) I would put the sample on the strip and have a few seconds to squeeze more blood out (even if from a different finger, which is not recommended, but sometimes you do what you gotta do.. ) and it’d let me add to the original sample.  Not with the Nano – you have to get it all in there the first time or you immediately get an error message and have to start over (aka waste a very valuable test strip).

So again, those are not “bad” features of the new meter, and I will continue using it (especially since my supplies for it are free 😉  ) but I thought since there were so many differences, I would at least write up a quick review.  🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

