Pump sites

Now that I’m almost 19 weeks pregnant (with twins) … I’m having issues placing my pump. I am limited as to where to insert it – even more so than usual ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  I’ve been diabetic for a little over 20 years now, so I have very little real estate sans scar tissue.ย  And now that my belly is getting bigger and harder …. I’m already having to put the site on my side.ย  And I’m now a side sleeper by default .. so that can be an irritant.

I can only wear the CGM a few days here and there, because frankly I don’t have room for it. :/ย  I know there are alternative sites .. and I’ve used some – I use my thigh for pump sites but they don’t work well for me. I only get about 2 days into it before it starts hurting. And every time I take it out, it has a big knot that hurts for days afterwards.ย  But I still use it, since it gives me a little bit of a break.

Has anyone worn the pump site onย your back?ย  I was thinking about trying that but wasn’t sure if it works well as far as absorbency goes?

I will figure it out .. and keep trucking forward. I can’t imagine doing this on MDI … I was on MDI for years and went back on the pump during myย last pregnancy. So I’m definitely not complaining – YDMV, but for me at least the pump has been a life saver. ๐Ÿ™‚

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Pump sites

  1. both my kids wear their pumps on lower back and upper buttock fine.

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks, Angela! I have worn mine on my hip and my upper buttocks.. but my scar tissue has built up so I don’t always get the best absorption. But at least they are options ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I wear a pump as well. I’ve never tried my hips, but I rotate back and forth on my buttocks. I hope you find some real estate!

  3. Scott E says:

    Yes, I use my lower back. Since the actual infusion site on the Sure-T is pretty low profile (practically flat) with connector-part a few inches a way, I find that (most of the time) it doesn’t interfere with back- or side-sleeping. I keep the needle/cannula part on my back with the connector stuck to my belly, with the tubing pigtail going around my side. You might be able to catch a glimpse of it (sort of) in the Wordless Wednesday post I have scheduled for tomorrow.

    As for CGM, I use my arms almost exclusively. I posted a video of it awhile back, but I’ve since improved my technique, particularly when it comes to removing the insertion needle. Just ask if you have any interest or any questions.

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks, Scott! I did see your video when you posted it… I haven’t ventured into the arm sites yet. But may need to before these babies get here ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I use my lower back for pump and CGM stuff a lot. One of my favorite places for them, actually! But maybe that’s because my stomach sticks so far out and I feel like my sets get in the way – and I’m not even preggers! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Patti says:

    How do you get to the places you can’t reach? I.E. lower back? I live alone and am not a contortionist ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Shannon says:

      The one time I put it on my lower back, I had to stand in front of a mirror – it was very easily, actually. And I do use my upper buttocks quite a bit (but there’s a lot of scar tissue now :/ ) and I can turn around enough to see where I’m putting it. You should try it .. it’s at leaset other options to give your stomach a break. Good luck!

    • Scott E says:

      Like Shannon, I use a mirror (except for when I had to do an emergency set-change yesterday in my car… long story). But if I can pinch up a little but of fat, I can usually go by feel; hold the adhesive up with two fingers and push the tiny cannula/needle/pin in. Putting in the Sure-T is like putting in a thumbtack, it’s not like the other sets where you fumble with insertion needles and stuff like that. But yeah, I usually twist at my waist about as far as I can, just to make sure I can see that I’m going in straight and not at an angle.

  6. Lysiannea says:

    Hi Shannon!
    I am addicted to arm sites ! They work great and last a BIG 3 days and more. In addition, it is easier to sleep and I do not always feel like having something around my waist. You should try it! It’s worth it!
    My thighs also are’nt always good for me:)

    • Shannon says:

      You wear your pump or your CGM in your arm, Lysiannea? I’m not sure I’d wear my pump site (although YDMV ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) in my arm because I’d be too worried about having to feed the tubing through sleeve, etc. But I have heard of people doing that. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Lysiannea says:

        I wear my pump site on my arms. I pass the tubing under my bra (although clipped all day) and I pass the tubing under my camisole at night. I swear you’re really love it! I almost just used my arms now! Quick set, Mio…bring them all ! I never have a “bend cannula ” or “vampire cannula” , neither I have bruises anymore! …. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

