Too full …

I am 18 weeks pregnant today (with twins, if you haven’t heard already) 😉   I still weigh less than I did before I got pregnant, but I definitely have a rapidly expanding baby belly .. how does that happen??  The only thing I can assume is everything I put in my mouth goes straight to these babies. 🙂  As of our last sonogram (last week) they are both measuring right on track, so I’m guessing all is well for now. 🙂  My dr said I should be gaining about a pound a week.. but yeah… that isn’t happening.

Another factor is that I’m hardly ever hungry. I’m not sick (*knock on wood*) but I just don’t have room to eat.  I try to eat a few smaller meals throughout the day, but even the slightest snack makes me feel like I’ve eaten a 10 course meal.  And there is another problem with that – I bolus for a meal, and have no idea going into it, how far I’ll get before I can’t put anything else in my mouth ..  I try to make sure I still get enough carbs to cover the insulin, but sometimes I have dropped afterwards because of this. :/

So I have doctors orders to have a “caloric free for all” as he put it .. but I am always too full to take advantage. lol

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Too full …

  1. Scott E says:

    This is amazing. I will never in my life understand how PWD’s (or any woman, for that matter) can carry babies to term without driving themselves absolutely insane. And with twins, well, that’s even more-so the case.

    I am absolutely in awe of what you are doing right now.

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks, Scott 🙂 It’s a pretty amazing process… and so much more to deal with being a PWD. But millions of us do it every day … so far so good on my end. Just gotta work out the kinks along the way 😉

  2. I’m a diabetic. I’ve bolused not knowing if i’ll finish a meal too. Have you tried shakes or a “liquid” diet to get the calories you need? I have no idea what going through a pregnancy is like, but my wife had some moments when she couldn’t eat and if I remember correctly, she ate liquids. Good luck!

  3. I gained most of my ‘twin baby-weight’ during the second trimester… wait for it… it’ll happen. And when it does, take comfort in knowing it’s the babies growing bigger and stronger!
    Good Luck – it’s a rollercoaster but so well worth the ride!!!
    ~ Lauren

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks, Lauren! I only gained 17 lbs with my son but it was probably midway through the 2nd trimester before it started showing on the scale. Today I am almost 19 weeks and I still haven’t gained anything. Kinda weird to be watching the scale to look for higher instead of lower numbers! lol

Leave a Reply

