Diabetes can be sneaky

Sometimes diabetes is sneaky ….   you will be convinced that you are high/low and you’ll poke your finger, only to see a completely foreign number show up on the screen that you were not expecting.

That happened to me today.    I went to bed last night (not long after eating dinner, which I know isn’t good, but we’d been on the go since 8 am and didn’t get home till late and I was exhausted!!) and my blood sugar was 165.  I put it into my pump to see if it would correct, and it didn’t.  I still had 7ish units of active insulin but I wasn’t entirely comfortable about going to bed with that number- thinking for sure I was going to spike.  But I did it anyway.

Woke up early morning and had to go to the bathroom – for me, that’s usually a sure sign I’m high.  Or these days it’s probably more so because I have two babies sitting on my bladder 😉  But really, they aren’t big enough yet to affect my bladder just yet, although it won’t be much longer I’m sure.

I went back to bed and got up when my alarm went off  after hitting snooze a few more times.  Checked my BG and it was 118.  I actually checked it again because I knew it had to be higher than that. I just “felt” high (that sounds bad, but it makes sense if you have diabetes.)  Turns out it was right on target – 118.  Hmm. I should be happy about that number, but it threw me off.

Then I get ready for the day, drive to work, and when I got here, I felt “off” walking to the building. I was seeing spots …  and just didn’t feel right.   Last time that happened a few weeks ago, it was a blood pressure issue (it had dropped too low — my dr has taken me off of my bp meds for a few weeks because this is apparently the point in pregnancy when the bp drops.)

I got to my desk and pulled out my breakfast and my meter. Checked my BG and saw this –

Where in the world did that come from??

I scarfed down some glucose tablets (I need to remember to bring some juice boxes to keep in my desk.. they work SO much faster) and then I ate a granola bar. Yes, that is “too” many carbs.. but I needed it back up – and fast.   After waiting what seemed like an eternity, I was back to “normal”.

But diabetes can be sneaky ….   makes you feel high or low when you’re not, and those pesky lows can sneak up on you out of nowhere.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Diabetes can be sneaky

  1. Sneaky stuff, for sure.

    A few years back I noticed that my sure-fire low symptoms yielded a blood sugar that was actually 200 mg/dl! That really threw me for a loop.

Leave a Reply

