Happy Happy – Times TWO

Well……. I’ve been quieter than normal with my blog lately, but for good reason.  I couldn’t talk about what I REALLY wanted to talk about.  And that is ….

Dan and I are expecting …..

TWINS!!!!!!!!!

Yikes!!! 🙂   I’m still trying to get used to saying that. 🙂

From a diabetes standpoint, I am doing great so far.  I am officially in my 2nd trimester – WHEW.  And I’m already being watched like a hawk. I have had four sonograms already – both babies look and sound great each time and are growing like little weeds. This week they should be about 2.5 inches long. 🙂

My blood sugars have been surprisingly perfect (so far), and any highs I have had have been carb/food related. I haven’t gained even one

pound yet, and so far my dr is ok with that . .but she said by 16-18 weeks she’d like to see some weight added – yikes I’d never think I’d hear a doctor TELL me to gain weight. Usually it’s “I’d like to see you lose a few, Shannon … ”  lol   My Perinatologist, who gives me my high level sonograms (once a month for now, but it will be more frequent toward the end of the pregnancy) said he’d like to see me gain 55 lbs. WHAT?? No thanks, doc.  My OB said she’d be happy with 30.  I only gained 17 lbs with A and he was perfectly sized – 7 lbs 2 oz.

When I was pregnant with A, I sailed right through that entire pregnancy.  But by the end, I was taking 3x the amoun

t of insulin.  I carried till 38 weeks and had a planned induction. But A had other ideas and apparently wasn’t ready so after 14 hours in “labor” (I didn’t feel a thing after that delicious epidural) they took him via c-section.

This time around, we’ll have a planned c-section and the dr is hoping to get me to 36 weeks, but would love if we can make it to 38.  We’ll see what these kiddos have in mind down the road, though 😉

I will keep everyone posted .. and don’t worry – I won’t turn my blog into a baby blog.. but it will be pertinent for the next several months, so there will be updates sprinkled in here and there 😉

Baby B in the top bunk, and Baby A on the bottom bunk 😉

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Happy Happy – Times TWO

  1. Karen says:

    🙂 Congratulations to you and your family!!! I know it was tough to keep it a secret, I’m so happy that you can post about it now.

  2. Scott E says:

    Wow, Shannon, I’m so excited for you!! What great news!

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks, Scott! It’s been hard to not blog/talk about it — it’s been extremely pertinent lately!! But like I said, had to get past that 1st trimester …. now I’m an open book! lol

  3. Keiran says:

    Congrats, congrats!!! I’m saying it everywhere I can, because big news like this deserves big congrats! 😀

  4. Holy wow! Congratulations!! Yay!

  5. Sara says:

    Woot! Woot! (a woot for each baby!)

    So exciting!

    P.S. Sara is a good name for a girl 😉

    • Scott E says:

      I agree with the above comment that it is, indeed, a beautiful name for a girl. However, I believe it (in both forms, with and without the concluding ‘h’) is cursed. So is the name Scott. Look around the DOC, and those two names appear more than any other.

      Don’t let that discourage you from choosing it, though. While my first name is a bit dated, the name Sara (or Sarah) is timeless, and my “belief” really has no merit whatsoever.

  6. Patti says:

    Congratulations! Wishing you a healthy, happy, no stress pregnancy!

  7. Pingback: Diabetes can be sneaky | No More Shots for Shannon

  8. Johanna B says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! I’m so happy for you.

  9. Pingback: New meter | No More Shots for Shannon

Leave a Reply

