New meter on its way

I’ve used the same meter for as long as I can remember.   I always just go with whatever freebie the dr has given me and for the last several years it’s been a Freestyle Lite.  I love it because it’s tiny and it takes an itty bitty amount of blood.   After 20 years.. some days (ok most days) it’s hard to squeeze out much more than that itty bitty drop.

I started out using One Touch (I still have it – it was a big ‘un), and I think I probably used an Accu-Chek here and there. I have no ill opinions of any brands up to this point, just always have been of the opinion “if it’s not broken, don’t fix it.”

Well then I found out that my new insurance only covers One Touch and Accu-Chek.  And today I find out even that list is limited.  They are going to give me a free meter and my copays for strips/lancets will be free … so I’ll be switching. I was really hoping I could get the Verio IQ — but no such luck.

My Accu-Chek choices were the Nano, the Aviva, or the Compact Plus.  My One Touch options were the Ultra 2 or the Ultra Mini.

While this poor lady (who was very nice) on the phone was going through the descriptions of each meter, I was feverishly searching them online so I could see pics.  I’d seen/heard of them all at one point or another. But my biggest thing I was searching for was – how big is the meter (will it still fit in my cute cupcake pouch. Priorities, right, Karen? 😉 )  and how small of a sample will it take.

I felt a little under pressure having to decide on the spot … so I went with the AccuChek Nano.  It was small, requires a very small sample, and shows before/after meals option.   We’ll see how it works.    Has anyone used this one before.  If so, do you have any feedback – positive/negative?

Next up on the agenda is talking to my dr about switching from Humalog to Novolog, which is the only brand our insurance covers apparently. :/

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New meter on its way

  1. Brian Bosh says:

    Had an AccuCheck Aviva and had to give it up w/ an insurance change years ago Really liked it. I’m now on the same meter you were, so curious what you think in a couple weeks.

  2. Scott E says:

    It’s a shame the Accu-Chek Nano doesn’t talk to your pump, but if small and easy is what you want, I think you’ve got a good choice there. If pump-talking is what you want, then the UltraLink is your choice. The strips are covered, and I can get you a meter, “gently used”, at no cost 🙂 (let me know).

    I switched from Humalog to Novolog years ago. My doctor was concerned about lows after-bolusing and before my meal took effect (I wasn’t, but his focus was quite narrow). Novolog’s onset is slightly slower than Humalog, but it also leaves the system and finishes the job sooner, so a postprandial BG spike may end up higher in number but shorter in duration. My switch was still when I was on MDI, so I can’t really say how it works with pumping. These are, of course, my own experiences and YDMV. I’ve thought of switching back, but this works for me, and shorter-acting is more important than quicker-acting for me.

    • Shannon says:

      Great points, Scott – thanks! So are you still on Novolog now that you’re pumping?

      I will keep you posted on the meter — thanks for the offer!!

      • Scott E says:

        Yup, still on Novolog. I tried Apidra briefly but because of its short shelf-life (2 days in reservoir) and high temperature volatility (can’t carry the vial with me as a spare), I found myself running out and switching back to Novolog a couple times during my trial (even once topped off an Apidra reservoir with Novo while sitting in my car). I didn’t see a real benefit to Apidra, but to be honest I didn’t give it a fair shot.

      • Shannon says:

        Those are the only 2 covered on my new insurance – Novolog and Apidra. But honestly I’d never heard of Apidra so I won’t go there. I used Novolog eons ago, while on MDI. And Humalog has always worked best but I’m going to have a (more) positive attitude and switch when I run out of the Humalog, just want to do my research to know what changes, however minor, to expect. Thanks again for the feedback – it means a LOT.

  3. Sara says:

    I switched from Humalog to Apidra because of the tail I was experiencing after meals. Apidra is still pretty new to market so if you aren’t comfortable with that, Novolog will do just fine.

    Other than the Verio, you should be able to use all the OneTouch meters (as long as you pay for them!) because they all use the same type of strip.

  4. Karen says:

    Yup, you totally need a meter that will fit in the cupcake pouch!! The CompactPlus definitely would not – that think is freaking huge. I’m using the OneTouch Link right now, and that talks to my pump and fits in the pouch. 🙂

  5. Pingback: New meter | No More Shots for Shannon

Leave a Reply

