A1C Discrepancy

I saw my endo a few weeks ago and he always uses the “A1C Now” to check my number, and it gives a result in a matter of minutes in his office.   When mine was checked at this particular appointment, it was 6.1 which was the lowest it’s been in .. well as long as I can remember honestly. I was so proud of it.

Although, as proud as I was about this number, his reaction was to say “Well that’s almost good.”  Ugh.  I see people post all the time about being judged on that number.. I won’t go there in this post, but ugh nonetheless 🙂  I know that I worked hard to get to that number, so that’s what I’m sticking with.

But.   I saw my OB/GYN last week and she was doing some blood work on me and threw in an A1C into the mix … she called me this week to tell me that it was a little higher than what I’d told her it was. She said it was 7.4 — huh?   How could there be that much of a difference in the span of about 2 weeks?  My blood sugars were not any different, and even if they had been, 2 weeks wouldn’t make that big of an impact on a 3 month average.

So I was wondering if anyone else has seen this big of a discrepancy, and is it possible the A1C Now tests aren’t as accurate?

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A1C Discrepancy

  1. Sara says:

    Your endo uses A1c Now?! I’m sorry, but those things are wildly inaccurate!!! I can’t imagine an endo’s office relying on them.

    The most accurate result will always come from a blood draw (not a fingerstick based test).

    Is there a way you can demand a blood draw for your A1c from the endo?

    • Shannon says:

      I had no idea they were that inaccurate until now …I always thought it was cool to stand there and watch it count down and give me my magic number. I was literally shocked when my other dr said what it really was. He’s been using the A1C Now for a few years now … :/ And he draws blood as well, so I wonder if he checks the A1C in the blood draw — surely if he did, he’d have seen the discrepancy?

  2. Scott E says:

    My previous endo used some type of machine made by Bayer that gave an A1C based on a fingerstick. It took about six minutes, if I recall, and the machine made all kinds of whirring and clunking noises as I waited it to finish (Not A1C Now, but probably similar). When I switched, my new endo used blood drawn from a vein at a lab. I’m convinced that the vein/lab test is probably half a percent higher than the fingerstick test, though I don’t have a solid basis for comparison (they were months apart, but the trend seems to follow that logic).

  3. I have experienced similar results as Scott E.

  4. Pingback: Failure is not an option | No More Shots for Shannon

  5. Pingback: Second verse, same as the first | No More Shots for Shannon

Leave a Reply

