Out of whack day

Yesterday was one of “those” days.  When I was completely out of BG control, for no good reason.   When you have days like that, it is so incredibly frustrating. And the stress of the situation doesn’t help for sure.

I went to bed Sunday night at 190. So I corrected it. Normally that works like a charm.  But then I wake up yesterday morning at 262. Where did that come from?   So I corrected it using my pump’s bolus wizard.

Sitting at my desk at work around 9 am, I was ready to eat my granola bar.   Tested so I could bolus, and it was 319.  Wth???   Bolused and corrected again.

At 10:00 am ….  I was 431.  HUH?   Ok.  Now it’s time to do something.  So at 10:30 I left work to go home and change out my pump site (I need to be better about bringing supplies with me. But this was a relatively new site, so I just didn’t have it with me.)  I get home and the first thing I did was check ketones. Holy smokes they are a little darker than moderate but not quite all the way at large.  Either way, not good.

At 11:30 am, I am 389 and I give myself a correction with a syringe.  To do this, I used my pump’s wizard to find out how much I needed, but I didn’t have it deliver it.  It told me I needed 20 units to bring me back down to normal.  So I shoot up old school with a syringe.  And wait.   During all of this, I am also drinking so much water that I feel like I’m going to float away -that’s what you are you supposed to do when you have ketones, because it flushes them out.

By 12:00 pm (30 min after the syringe correction and site change) I am 417.  WTH.  I am going the wrong way.  And now I have large amounts of ketones. The strip was getting darker instead of lighter.  I did find out yesterday from my DOC friends that there is a two hour delay in the pee stick. So I had to wait it out.  After calling my dr, even he agreed that he wasn’t as concerned about the ketones as long as the BG starts to come down.  I’ve been in DKA three times in my life and I do not want to have a 4th.

12:20 pm — 319

1:10 pm — 242

1:41 pm — 193 (finally under 200!)  Finally ate the sandwich I’d brought for lunch.  I was starving, but I was afraid to eat, because any carbs at this point is going to raise my BG some more. But I still had to eat.  Counted every single carb.

2:40 pm — 228 (again going the wrong way!)

3:15 pm – 258   (Ok now I’m getting even more frustrated.)

4:05 – 260  (I give up.  At least the ketones are starting to come down.)

By 6 pm I was “down” to 209.    I bolused for dinner, again being very specific about what I ate so I could count every single carb.  And by bedtime, I was 127. Whew. Finally got there.  But what a rollercoaster day!!

Let me tell you .. high blood sugars kick your butt.  And then when you add ketones to the mix, it just makes you feel that much worse. They make you feel like you’ve been hit by a truck, and make you so incredibly tired.    Needless to say, I slept VERY well last night. And woke up to a beautiful 124 on my meter’s screen.  Today will be a better day. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Out of whack day

  1. Patti says:

    I am so glad that you wrote this Shannon. I too have had those unexplained highs and my first thought is “what did I do wrong”. I keep bolusing and it keeps getting higher for NO REASON! I am glad that this is “normal” now that I see that I am not the only one that this happens to. Thanks for sharing!

    • Shannon says:

      Glad it helped you, Patti 🙂 It’s definitely frustrating. But at the same time, more often than not, it’s not a result of us doing anything wrong. Usually I know that if I have a high here and there, it’s food/carb related. But these yesterday were so out there and unexplained, I knew without a doubt that this time I hadn’t done anything wrong. I just knew I needed to fix it somehow! 🙂

  2. Lexi says:

    Just a thought, I use blood keytone strips for these occasions, they are bit expensive if you don’t have insurance, but you avoid the 2 hr delay and hopefully you won’t need them too often!

  3. Pingback: Twenty Years | No More Shots for Shannon

  4. Scott E says:

    This is a perfect example of why I hate it when when people try to judge by just one number. That first 190 must have been upsetting, but the final 209 must have put a real smile on your face. It’s all about what happens in between that matters.

    Just a tip — if you’ve got a set failure (like it seems you did), I would correct with the regular correction factor (assuming no insulin on-board), PLUS the last 2 or 3 hours worth of basal. If you weren’t getting any basal, that would have been missed. If you had recently taken a bolus for food, add some of that in too, just for good measure.

    • Shannon says:

      I honestly don’t even know if I had a set failure. Changing out my site didn’t seem to help. Nor did the correction w/ the syringe. So I have no idea. But I was sure glad to see it coming down finally later that night. But this is great advice – I did not know that. 🙂

  5. Ugh, what a frustrating ride. I’m sorry you had to deal with all of that crap/

Leave a Reply

