Another successful JDRF Walk :)

Weekend before last was our local JDRF walk and it was a great day 🙂   I have had so much going on lately that I didn’t have a lot of time to prepare for it like I usually do.  I usually start hitting people up, I mean requesting donations, mid-summer. But this year it was much later and it was down to the wire until the day before, on whether or not I was going to hit my goal.  But I did hit it and am SO thankful for everyone that not only came out to support me, but those that also were able to donate to the cause. You guys ROCK!

For the past 7 years I have co-chaired the Dallas walk. I’ve started to back down a little from my duties .. I attend most of the planning meetings (or at least call into them) and D and I get to the walk early (5:30 am) to help set up, and stay afterwards to help clean up.  I’m not sure how much longer I’ll stay on the committee. Every year I say “this is the last year” – I love the team and it’s so fulfilling .. but at some point I want to go back to enjoying the walk itself.  So this year I made the decision to have the best of both worlds – I helped plan, set up, clean up, and I also walked the 5k for the first time in 7 years.

This year, it was pouring down rain during set up.  Two years ago was the first time the walk had ever been cancelled due to rain (lightening) so we were just hoping we didn’t have a repeat of that year – and we lucked out.  It poured during set up … slowed down then stoppped during the walk itself. And then started up again after the walk was over and most of the walkers had left.  See, a good day 🙂

This is year 20 for me.  This month, actually.  My mom and I have attended every single walk since my dx, with the exception of ’98 and only because I was in the hospital in DKA — so I had a good “excuse” not to be there.  It is a very memory-filled event for me.  And I am so happy to be able to share it with our kiddos, and my close friends/family.  I love them all so much and it means more than I can ever say that they share the day with me. I have memories of my grandmother going with me when she was still alive for the first five years after my dx.  And of our dog, Gracie, who is no longer with us but she walked with us until her poor legs just couldn’t do it year after year.  And friends that have moved on and moved away.  It’s always been a fun day for me. And I’m already looking forward to next year 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Another successful JDRF Walk :)

  1. Scott E says:

    I love reading about these walks, and about what we take away from them. After I walked this year, I was practically glowing and grinning from ear-to-ear for the rest of the day, all night, and into the following morning. (Then I arrived at work and everyday reality set in, flipping the smile upside down.)

    I love how you’ve turned the walk into a family (and extended-family, and pet) event!

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks, Scott! I also love that so many people who know me – whether it be closely or as an acquaintance… think of me when they hear anything about JDRF or the walk. If I’m their one connection they have to D… then I’ll take it. That’s how you raise awareness. 🙂 Glad your walk was so successful, too! Loved reading about your son’s takeaway from it. 🙂

  2. Sara says:

    Great pictures! Our local walk has a pet costume parade with prizes and everything 😀

  3. Karen says:

    Loved reading this post. Just finding your blog thru SixUntilMe’s blog roll. My daughter (now 7yrs old) was diagnosed 10 months ago. We do not have a JDRF walk here and I wondered if you could tell me how I could help get one started. Maybe I just need to contact JDRF in my state?

    • Shannon says:

      Hi, Karen! Thank you for the kind words. Yes, I would definitely contact your local JDRF office (www.jdrf.org) and talk to them. There may be one close by to where you live? Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

