It does a body good

Do you ever have those selfish days?  You know the ones  where you wish even for one day (or heck I’d even take a half of a day!) you could be “normal”?   And not have to account for every single thing you put into your mouth. Or factor in how much “exercise” you’re going to get – whether it’s walking through Target, or running around a track.

Things have been great in my life – lots going on.  But I’ve still had a few of those days lately.  I had a site change earlier in the week, and after only wearing it for about 2 1/2 days I had to pull it.  It was hurting so bad – my thigh sites tend to do that.. they have good absorbancy but man they just don’t last as long.  Then when I pull them out, it bleeds and I always have a sore knot for several days afterwards.

So I took that site out and put it in my hip.  This was my site of choice for the first 3 or 4 years I was back on the pump (went back on it in ’07 when I got pregnant with my son).  But now I have so much scar tissue built up there that it doesn’t always work so well.   I still have it in that site but my boluses are starting to burn so I know it’s coming out tonight more than likely.

But the biggest thing lately for me, even outside of the site issues … is sometimes I just want to drink a big ol’ glass of milk and not have to “worry” about it.  When I was a kid, I always drank a glass of milk with dinner.  I LOVE milk.   But after getting my dx in ’92 .. I stopped drinking it.  Not because I can’t drink it .. but because it’s carbs that need to be counted and I don’t typically like to “waste” carbs on liquids :/

The older I get (I’m only 37 .. .so I know I’m not ancient, but I’m definitely not the young whipper snapper I was at age 17 when I was dx’d) I realize that I need more calcium.  Yes, I could take vitamin supplements.. but lately I’ve decided what the heck and I’m going to start drinking milk more often.

I just hate having to measure/bolus for it.   I’ll step off of my selfish soapbox.  🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It does a body good

  1. Scott E says:

    If you think your soapbox is selfish, you’re mistaken. I’m sure there are lots of people on that same box sharing the same sentiments.

    On the infusion-set thing, I can’t say enough how much I like the Sure-T. I used to think it was the “set of last resort” for people with real challenges (kind of like I feel about lancer devices set all the way up to 10), but it’s not. Yesterday when I “suspected” a site issue, I pulled it out, and since the “cannula” is really just a tiny needle, I popped it back in somewhere else. A little supplemental tape, but other than that it was super-easy. And since there’s no cannula-wrapped introducer needle, it goes in much smoother, hence less scar tissue. I highly recommend trying it.

  2. I’ll jump on that box of soap with ya! Totally relate to just about everything you’ve said here!

    I’m 37 too. Shhh! 🙂

  3. lovehatediabetes says:

    I never drink milk for that reason also! I started drinking Breakfast Essentials. You add them to milk (adds carbs). I think this makes milk much more enjoyable!

Leave a Reply

