Mrs. Forgetful

Earlier this week I was sitting at my desk at work, enjoying a delicious Subway sandwich and Sun Chips … and right as I put that last bite into my mouth, I paused and had an “Oh CRAP” moment.  I remembered that although I’d diligently checked my blood sugar before my meal, I’d forgotten to actually TAKE the insulin.  Doh.

Another good reason for the pump, is that it shows the history.  I started second guessing myself on whether or not I did take it.  I remember that happening when on MDI many years ago .. and you have to argue with yourself and decide how sure you are/are not so as not to double up on the shots.  (I’ve had it go both ways before)  Looking at my pump’s history confirmed I had indeed forgotten to bolus, so I had to take it after I’d finished my meal.  I did run a little high that afternoon but not as bad as it could have been.

Then yesterday I was driving to work, and after about 1/2 way through my 30 min commute … I glanced over at my purse and thought it looked emptier than  usual.  Doh. I’d forgotten my meter at home.  Are you kidding me?  I was already running a little late so I opted to drive on in to work and go home at lunchtime to get it.    I used to keep a spare meter in my desk but I hadn’t gotten around to bringing it up here yet, since I’m still getting settled in.

In the “olden” days (pre-DOC) I’d have winged it all day, just bolusing for my meals/snacks.  But since making all the changes I’ve made this year…  It was driving me crazy not knowing what my BG was. I remember someone (Kelly, I think it was you?) saying that our blood sugar is similar to our road map. It tells us where we’ve been, where we are, and where we’re going.   So I felt lost without my meter.  I am taking a CGM break for a few days so I didn’t even have that to give me a ballpark.

Went home during lunch and checked first thing – all good.

Made sure it was in my purse this morning when I left the house.

And again, see, even after almost 20 years…. I still don’t have this think nailed down 100%.  And I don’t expect I ever will. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mrs. Forgetful

  1. lovehatediabetes says:

    I really liked this post! The analogy of the road map was very good. I never thought of it that way. I hope your week is forget-free 🙂

  2. Isn’t it crazy how we can forget these things that we’ve been doing forever?

Leave a Reply

