One smart cookie

My four year old has become all too familiar with my diabetes and my insulin pump.  And honestly, I hate that.  I mean I know it’s a good thing that he’s aware, but I selfishly hate that it even has to be a part of his life.

Every time I have to tell him, “Hold on, honey, mommy needs to drink my juice (or eat my “candy”), so I can finish playing with you.”  Or when we go to the grocery store and he knows which juices are “mommy’s juices” and then he gets to pick out his own (my preference are the apple juice Juicy Juice boxes) 😉

Or when he’s saying “Mommy, can we eat now?” And I have to say, “Hold on, honey, mommy has to check my blood sugar first.” (Although I’m trying to be better about this one and checking it before I set the table, or at least bringing the meter to the table with me so he doesn’t have to wait any longer than necessary.)

Or when we go to the beach/water parks and I have to tell him that Daddy will take him in the water because I just put my pump back on.

Last night we were sitting at the dinner table and out of the blue, he said, “Mommy, I know you wear an insulin pump.”  So I said, “Yes, I do. Do you know why?”  And he said, “Yes, because you need insulin.”  I asked if he knew why I needed insulin, and he said, “Because you have diabetes.”

Yep, I sure do.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One smart cookie

  1. Scott E says:

    Kids who grow up with diabetes in the household seem to have a completely different perspective on it than we could imagine. Just a few days ago, my son saw a container of Tic-Tacs on the counter (he didn’t know what they were), he told me that “Grandma forgot to take her medicine home with her”. I explained that it’s not medicine, that it’s a kind of candy, and he responded “And Grandma can eat that because she doesn’t have diabetes, right?”

    It was a quick chance to correct a few common misconceptions, but for the most part he gets it. But I’m still not sure he gets the concept of my blood sugar being “high” or “low”. I think he believes high sugar is near my head, and low sugar is near my feet.

  2. swis12 says:

    This makes me smile because your boy is indeed one smart cookie. Of course it also makes me sad because diabetes sucks and I wish all the daily conversations that have to do with diabetes care with your dear boy could be replaced with anything but diabetes care. Hugs and Kuddos to you both.

  3. Wow! One smart cookie indeed!

Leave a Reply

