New job

I started a new job this week – leading up this I have been so busy, so that’s why I haven’t been as good about updating my blog – sorry ‘bout that!  I’m very excited about my new job, and know that I’m going to be very busy!  

I had “the talk” with my boss yesterday, who is visiting me from out of town this week, about my diabetes.  During the interview process, I always take off my medic bracelet, and obviously do not mention my disease at all, for obvious reasons.  But once I’m on board and “official” it’s no holds barred.   I told her that I am diabetic, but that I am in “great control” (if there really is such a thing) even though I’ve had it 20 years this coming October.   She was very nice about it.  I explained that I wear an insulin pump, and a CGM and it alarms me if I’m about to go too low/high.  And I have to wear a safety vest (I work in a warehouse environment) and it luckily has pockets in it .. so it’s perfect to carry glucose tablets.  I came up with that bright idea after dropping to 65 while taking a few tours around the building.  So I will now have glucose on me at all times. 🙂

Today she even offered to put a small fridge in my office, so I can always have snacks on hand.  Thanks, I think I’ll take ya up on that!

And yesterday during our talk … we had the inevitable conversation of the “so and so” she knows that has it “bad”.  (why do people always do that???)  She knows someone in his mid-20s who has had it since he was a child but doesn’t take care of himself and is in the hospital a couple of times a month, usually in DKA. One time in particular, he passed out and lost all control of his body movements.  Yikes.  I told her that I had been in DKA 3 times within a 9 month period in ’98 while in college, but after we realized it was a pump issue, I quickly went back on shots and have had no problems with that since then. 

Then she had another story about a former coworker who was diagnosed as a child, and was extremely meticulous with his diet and exercise (as an adult).  She said he never ever “cheated”.  And at age 57 his kidneys started to fail and he was put on dialysis.  Eventually got a new pancreas and kidney.  She asked me how he could have gotten to that point, when he was so “good”.  I told her it was likely damage that was done early on that finally caught up to him.

Diabetes is like a silent lurker …. Yes it’s in my face every single day, but it’s always “there” causing damage that I won’t see for a long time down the road.  But I try as much as I can to not think about that.. because if damage has already been done… it’s been done. And I can’t change that.  All I can do is live day to day and take care of myself NOW the best I can.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New job

  1. Scott E says:

    That last part is what’s so troubling. Some people can do the absolute best job of controlling diabetes and end up with severe complications, while others can be incredibly complacent over the whole thing and they turn out fine. Just like getting diabetes itself, it’s partly up to chance. But we play the odds, do our best, and hope for the best. Good luck with the new job though! Sounds like you’re in a place where they’ll be looking out for you, which is always comforting.

    (I didn’t realize you were still on shots. I thought awhile back you said you switched to a pump, despite the blog name).

    • Shannon says:

      I’m on the pump .. have been since I was pregnant with my son, in 2007. I was on it in ’98 but went off of it because of the DKA.. and then my dr convinced me to go back on it when I got pregnant, so it would be easier to adjust my doses. By the end I was taking almost 3x what I was taking pre-pregnancy!

Leave a Reply

