Daily total

I feel like I have been MIA lately .. .but I’m still here. Lurking on Twitter and keeping up with a few blogs. 🙂   I am starting a new job next week, so I’ve been a little busy, to say the least.

I had an interesting conversation with a friend, a fellow DOC-er the other day.  He had shown me some screen shots of his CGM graphs because there is an upgraded software that is mainly for doctors to use that he was trying to explain to me.  But in looking at his graphs… I saw that he only takes about 30 units of insulin every day (basal and bolus).  There are times, albeit very few and far between, that I have taken that for one meal. (I do understand YDMV = Your Diabetes May Vary) but that really caught my attention.   I started scrolling through my pump’s history and I average about 75-90ish units per day. What??   When I started doing a low carb diet earlier this year, I knocked that down to about 50ish units per day.  I do know that I don’t eat as well as I should all the time. I am keeping my sugars in a good range, for the most part .. but I do know that I should be eating less carbs. And that is an ongoing battle I continue to fight.

Keeping in mind that YDMV… how many daily units do you average?

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daily total

  1. Johanna B says:

    I’m not on insulin (although I think I should be) so I will be no help for you. Hang on to YDMV,

  2. CC says:

    I am taking about 40 to 45 units a day. I’m really trying to get it down to around 30/day, but it’s not really happening. I’m going to keep trying though. 🙂

  3. Scott E says:

    I have to admit, earlier today I blogged about my diagnosis and noted that my initial daily insulin dosage was 9 u Regular + 19 u NPH = 28 units/day total. I was 7 years old and about 45 pounds at the time. Today, I’m more than 5 times older and more than 3 times heavier, and was shocked to realize my total daily dose is not much different. (Yes, I know pumping generally requires less than injections, and Novolog can be very different than the animal-sourced insulin of yesteryear). My point is: none of it makes sense and you just need what you need.

    I will say, though, that two events made a big difference in the amount of insulin I take are related to exercise: first was the birth of, and subsequent chasing of, my first son (prompting me to lower my weekend basal); and second was switching from an office-based to a field-based job, which keeps me on my feet and made me use the “weekend basal pattern” full-time.

  4. Sara says:

    35-45 but it really DOESN’T mean anything from one person to another. The right amount of insulin is the amount that YOUR body needs.

  5. Karen says:

    I take about 40 units a day or so – but like others said, the amount doesn’t really matter because we all have different basal needs and carb ratios. If I understand it correctly, the thing to shoot for is something like 50% insulin from basal and 50% from bolus. Mine is 51% basal and 49% bolus, so I guess I’m doing fine. 🙂

  6. I agree with what others have said – it’s so very different for everyone, and doesn’t mean much one way or another. For what it’s worth, I’ll normally average between 80 – 100 units / day.

Leave a Reply

