Walgreens.. and the DOC! … to the rescue

Last weekend my hubby and I took a mini vacation out of town for the weekend.   The day before we were to leave, I realized I only have one vial of insulin in the fridge.  Ruh roh. I had enough in my current vial to last the weekend more than likely .. but it’s just not a good idea to travel without a spare.   We’ve all seen that bottle fall out of the butter compartment and shatter on the kitchen floor. 😉

So I swung by Walgreens after work to drop off my Rx for some life support.  The guy asked me if I could come back in an hour – no problem, as I was heading to meet my friend, Amy, for dinner.

I head back to pick it up (it’s been 3 hours by now) and as I’m sitting in the drive through lane, my pump beeps at me. I look down to see an empty reservoir. Oops.  No big deal, I’ll be home in a few minutes and will reload.

Get up to the window and the nice man tells me that he’s ordered my insulin and it should be in by noon tomorrow.  Yeah, that’s not gonna work, since I’m leaving town first thing in the morning.  I asked him if he was sure he didn’t have at least one bottle in stock – I can get a partial order and come back for the rest after the weekend.  He said they don’t keep it in stock. What the .. ?  I said that I’ve always gotten the same kind, and always at this location – how would you not keep insulin in stock?  He said that the Rx was written for 3mL and they only keep 10mL in stock.  I don’t know what that even means (even though I know I should) so I tell him again that I’ve always gotten the same kind of insulin.. and asked if he could please check again.  He said he would call around to other locations – but the problem with that is it’s now 8:30 pm and they were going to close in 30 minutes, so that limits my drive time ability.

He comes back about 30 minutes later and hands me a bag with 2 vials in it. I asked if he was able to find some after all and he said “No, we realized that we entered the Rx incorrectly into the system, and once we realized that, we can now give you the correct mL bottles.”  Whew!

So in the midst of all of this … my pump has been empty for a while now and I’m getting frustrated thinking I might have to go on this trip and ration out my insulin.  So I tweeted my frustration (nicely, in my opinion).   I received so many responses from the DOC – words of support, suggestion, etc.  (Shout out Scott and Cheri!)    And even received a follow up tweet an hour or so later, to make sure that I did in fact finally have insulin flowing through my tubing. #makessenseifyouhavediabetes

One of the tweets I received was from Walgreens. They saw my tweet and apologized.  Also asked which location I had been to, so management could address the issue.  I do not want to get anyone in trouble (because I’m extremely non-confrontational like that) but I do appreciate the offer and acknowledgment.

So, thank you to Walgreens for fixing the situation and especially to my pals in the DOC (Diabetes Online Community) for lookin’ out for me!  You guys rock.  I can’t even express how much it means to me to be a part of this community.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Walgreens.. and the DOC! … to the rescue

  1. Suga says:

    Shannon, the 10mL is the amount of insulin in the bottle – 1000 units. 3mL would be about 300 units. You might want to check into that. 🙂

  2. @kahoffman says:

    Nice job by Walgreens on checking in – Twitter is magic!

  3. Pingback: July DOC: This month really hit home « Rolling in the D

Leave a Reply

