That’s a first!

One of those “this has never happened before” moments happened the other night.

I was getting ready for bed, around 11pm.. and I had my site in my backside/hip area.  I had gotten a Low Reservoir error a little while earlier and honestly took the “lazy” route because I didn’t want to change my site right before bed, so I opted to add insulin to the reservoir and planned to change the site the next day.

No such luck.

As I was getting ready for bed, I reached back and touched my site (I do this instinctively to check the tape, etc.) and it was damp.  Huh?  I start thinking that I must not have screwed it back on all the way .. but wait, I didn’t disconnect. Not since my shower that morning.  Hmm.  What could it be then?   And now that I am thinking about it .. my sugars had been running a little high (200ish) for a day or two, but I also hadn’t been making the best food choices, so I’d chalked it up to that.

I go in front of the mirror and the tape looks fine.  Snug as a rug.  But by now it’s obvious that I’m leaking insulin. I can smell it and it’s still wet, which means it’s still coming out.

Time to pull it.  Ugh.

I reach around and pull it out … and see this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What’s odd (to me) is that the site hadn’t been painful.  Usually if I’m in a bad spot (aka a bleeder), it’ll burn and feel bruised, almost.  But this was obviously a bad site. :/

A problem with putting my site in my backside is that I can’t see it as easily as I can if I were to just say, look down at my abdomen, or my thigh.  ‘Cause if I could have, I’d have clearly seen there was a problem –

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I checked my BG and it was 268. :/  Yikes.  I also had 8ish units of active insulin still on board.  But realistically, I have no idea how much of my last bolus I had actually gotten (with the leak and all) so I let the pump dose me for that correction, assuming I had all 8ish of those units .. and went to bed.

Now the SMART thing to do would have been to set an alarm to wake up in 2 hours to check my BG again… But instead, I didn’t and I woke up at 5:30 to this –

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Drank a juice box and tried to go back to sleep, with no luck.  But when I did finally got up a little while later, I saw 110 on my meter and all was well with the world again. Well, at least in my household.  🙂

 

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That’s a first!

  1. MelissaBL says:

    All too familiar. =\ Sorry for your leaker.

Leave a Reply

