Slurpee!

I’m sure you’ve heard by now that 7-11 now offers a new sugar free Slurpee “For a limited time” … The other day I decided to try one out – I haven’t had a Slurpee in .. I can’t even remember when. But it’s been over 20 years at least as I haven’t had once since I’ve been diabetic for sure.

 

 

 

 

 

 

My friend and fellow blogger, Scott, tried one out recently and he blogged about it.  Broke down the carbs (15g for a 20 oz cup) and gave his take on how it affected his blood sugars.

I filled up my cup with 20 oz of Sugar Free Strawberry Banana yumminess… and took my first sip. It was heavenly.

As my coworker and I were walking back out to my car, I said, “I sure hope this doesn’t jack up my blood sugars later on.” She said, “Why would it? It’s sugar free, isn’t it?”  *sigh*  I explained (again) that it’s not the sugar, but the carbs, that mess with our sugars.  (I’ll get off my soap box now 😉  )

I am happy to report that I don’t think it affected my sugars in a negative way.  The only reason I say I “think” is because said coworker and I had also had mexican food for lunch and no matter what, that almost always does me in as far as my my sugars go … so I was 228 a couple of hours after the Slurpee. But I’m thinking that was more the food than the icy treat .. so I’ll try again after having a better option for lunch 😉

I give it two thumbs up. 🙂

I’m also hoping that they decide to keep these around longer than just for a “limited time”.   Diabetics rarely allow themselves to indulge in treats such as this (notice I didn’t say we can’t .. we just choose not to, because it requires so much insulin and it’s a total guessing game most times.)  It is very hot down here in the south, so knowing I have this frozen treat available has been a very nice change! Please, 7-11 …. keep it around for those of us with broken pancreases. 🙂

**Update: I had another Slurpee yesterday after having a normal carb lunch … and I was 80 afterwards, so all good! 🙂  It was the first time my 4 year old and I were able to enjoy one TOGETHER.  And today (7/11) they are offering FREE 8 oz Slurpees because of the date. 😉  Go and enjoy one today!

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Slurpee!

  1. Johanna B says:

    Wish we had a 7/11 here in Topeka. The midwest D-folk are missing out.

  2. danielouize says:

    OMG I wish we had sugar-free frozen drinks here, in the UK. I love slurpees and the flavour sounds yum! :/
    I hope they have them in Fl. September time so I can try one 😀
    Please 7/11, keep them! Maybe you should write a letter telling them to keep them? 🙂 lol

    • Shannon says:

      I am thinking I might! I also wanted to tag them in my post but my settings on my work computer won’t allow me to .. so I’ll have to try to remember to do it when I get home. 🙂

  3. Debra says:

    I just had the free one, it was delicious even being sugar free. I don’t usually like strawberry flavored things but it was a good treat:)

  4. Scott E says:

    I really don’t have anything to say, but I’ve got a big smile on my face as I read this! (And I don’t think it’s because of all the yellow smileys in there!)

  5. swis12 says:

    so glad you got your slurpee fix. I like how you differentiated that pwd can have the “stuff” but most choose not to. Honestly people without diabetes should try to be half as smart when it comes to food choices as those with diabetes – the world overall would be a healthier place. I know that it is safe to say that here – if I tried to say it somewhere else I would get all kinds of comments regarding how people who have diabetes had to have eaten like crud to have gotten it – oh the ignorance. I did just learn that there truly is a 7/11 near our home that I was unaware of so when you come on the 28th we can partake in slurpee goodness together.

  6. Karen says:

    You know, I don’t think I’ve EVER had a Slurpee. But Strawberry Banana sounds yummy and only 15g of carbs isn’t bad at all. I think I may go on a Slurpee quest after dinner tonight!!

    • Shannon says:

      It’s SO good, Karen. You have to try it, at least to say you did 🙂 They switch out flavors every month from what I can tell, so I don’t know what next month’s sugar free flavor will be. Last month was Mango.

Leave a Reply

