Uncontrolled?

I asked my dr’s office recently if I could try out a FastClix lancing device (I haven’t tried it yet, but when I do, I’ll post a review of it), so I swung by on my lunch break one day to pick it up, and to get an Rx for the drums.

I had the Rx for a week before I remembered to drop it off .. but as I was sitting in the drive through lane at Walgreens, I glanced down at the script and saw this –

 

 

 

 

 

 

So my question is this .. why is it labeled “Uncontrolled”?    I’m not sure why I took somewhat offense to this .. after all I’d just dropped my A1C by 1.2 points in the last 3 months.  I’m in better control now than I’ve been in a long time.  And yes, I know that this is a generic sticker they put on everyone’s Rx’s .. but why? And does that mean that if he’d checked the box, right above the one that was checked, then I’d be “Controlled”?

Things that make you go “Hmmmmm….”

And realistically, are we ever IN control of diabetes?

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Uncontrolled?

  1. Sara says:

    Try not to let it get to you – it’s just an insurance billing code. I think it is for an A1c over 7, but I am not sure of the exact number. It does mean that you are without complications though.

    You are more than a dumb check box!

  2. Scott E says:

    I’ll bet your doctor just checked that box out of habit. But like Sara said, it’s all about insurance billing and it could be actually to your benefit. I’ve heard of cases where insurance will cover a CGM for someone who is “uncontrolled”, in order to improve their so-called control, and once their numbers are back on target, the insurance co. no longers covers it (never mind that the control is an ongoing thing that’s HELPED by the CGM!)

    It’s a stupid game, and it’s hard not to let it get to you. As I read your post and Sara’s response (which I’ve heard before), it bothers me to think how I’ve recently slipped into the “uncontrolled” category. It shouldn’t, but it does. We need to remember it’s all about money and bureaucracy, nothing more.

Leave a Reply

