Carbs can be deceiving

One of my favorite places to eat for a healthier option is Jason’s Deli.   I used to always order their chicken salad sandwich on wheat (it has pineapples in it- yummy!!), with Baked Lays (83 grams of carbs for the whole meal, in case you were wondering).  But recently I found another dish there that I loooove.

It’s their Nutty Mixed Up Salad.

The first time I ordered it, I looked up their carbs online and almost flipped when I saw this –

 

 

 

 

 

50 g of carbs?   There’s no way.  Yes, there is fruit in it .. but no where near 50g worth.   So that first time I had it, I SWAG’d the carbs to 25g and my BG was perfect afterwards.  I’ve gone with 25g every time since, and always spot on with my sugars.

So my question is …. how in the world did they come up with 50g??  And is it worth it to try to contact their corporate office to tell them they are showing DOUBLE the amount of carbs for this salad?   I can’t even imagine how quickly someone would crash if they bolused for 50g eating that meal. :/

Do you have any other foods that you’ve found that are this far off from the label?  And if so, have you ever contacted the store/manufacturer to let them know how important it is to be accurate?

**Update: I did send up sending an email to Jason’s Deli, and they responded within a couple of hours – very impressive!  The response I received was:

“Thank you for your recent concern regarding the carb count for our Nutty Mixed Up Salad. We always appreciate hearing from our customers. Upon reviewing the information provided from the lab we use to analyze our menu items, it appears that 25g of carbohydrates come from the cranberry walnut mix and about 15-20g come from the fruit. The rest of the carbs represent the other items in the salad.  I want to thank you for bringing this to our attention so that we can make sure we are providing the most accurate information possible for our guests.” 

Then she gave me her direct contact information if I needed further assistance.  So, bottom line is it appears for me, personally, bolusing for 25g does the trick.  However, Your Diabetes May Vary.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Carbs can be deceiving

  1. Johanna B says:

    I love their Nutty Mixed Up Salad. It’s about the only thing I order from them. Fortunately? I don’t have to bolus for it because I’m T2 and on oral meds. I can’t believe they’d be that far off on the carb count. Could be dangerous for some folks.

  2. swis12 says:

    It is because people like you take the time to educated food service businesses that we have as much nutritional information as we do from restaurants. I am not sure but I do think it is the law that they provide it but there is no guarantee that their info will be accurate. Good thing you were paying attention. I know they came back and explained their reasoning but it still seems like too much. If I were new to D I would have likely taken the info as correct and then experienced a low (speaking for my kids). Glad you quoted Bennet – “Your Diabetes May Vary” – every minute of every day. Trying to catch up on blogs Shannon – excited I will get to see you on the 28th!
    Take care.

  3. Scott E says:

    I used to work for my mom’s friends at a chocolate shop (ironic, isn’t it?). The labels on the products always underestimated the amount of included chocolate… if they didn’t do that, they could be accused of fraud, deception, and not selling what the customer paid for. Of course, the carbs and other info were underestimated as well.

  4. Karen says:

    Wow, that’s interesting. I wonder if the fiber has anything to do with it. I think apples are pretty high in fiber, right? I know I’ve heard that when you are eating high fiber you can deduct half of the fiber grams from the carb grams. I mean, I doubt the salad has 50 grams of fiber though!! But anyway, this is a great reminder that sometimes we need to go with our “bolus gut instinct” rather than take nutrition facts as law.

    • Shannon says:

      Yea and it has a lot of different nuts in it .. so I’m sure it does have a high fiber count – but not THAT high! lol I had it again today and bolused “my way” and came out just fine. 😉

Leave a Reply

