Endo Update

I was so nervous about my Endo appointment last week (as usual.) I got there and weighed in – that part is never fun – and it wasn’t as bad as I thought (although not as good as I’d like, obviously.)   And then we go back into the room so the nurse can take my vitals.

I admittedly do not always take my BP and thyroid meds as regularly as I should. In fact, I usually remember a week or so before my appt :/ but it’s usually not in time for the numbers to reflect it so I am usually high – running around 142/82.   This time I was 132/82. Still “high” but better than “usual”.  (I have been better about taking them the past few days.  Still saying I’m a work in progress.)

He did tell me that my cholesterol was high.  The LDL was twice as high as he said he’d like to see it. 😦 I’m going to make a concerted effort to work on that – sooner than later. That’s not something to mess around with for anyone, but especially not for someone with diabetes. 😦

My last A1C was 6.9 which was down from 7.9 three months prior. I thought for SURE that it’d have crept back up because I haven’t been doing as well as I thought ….. So you can imagine my shock when he wrote down 6.7.  Whaaaaa?  How does that happen?   But whatever, I’ll take it!!

And another bonus – he didn’t draw blood this time.  Woot woot.

So all in all, I had a great appointment. Obviously there are areas that need improvement… but I’ll take my successes where I can get them. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Endo Update

  1. Scott E says:

    Nice job Shannon! All numbers trending in the direction they should be. Don’t fear the endo!

Leave a Reply

