Nope, not a Band-Aid

The other day I was walking out of the office with my co-worker and I commented out loud that my hand smelled like insulin (I had done a recent site change at work – actually I had more than likely just added insulin to my low reservoir, but that’s beside the point.) She said, “It has a smell?”  

Yes, it sure does.  I told her that I’ve been told my clean clothes, fresh out of the laundry, even have a very distinct smell.

So she asked if she could smell my hand to see what it smelled like — when she smelled it, she said, “Omg I’ve smelled that before!”  She used to work as a Teller in a bank and she said she had a customer that worked for a dr’s office and whenever she would come in to make a transaction, the tellers always commented that the lady, and the papers she brought with her, smelled like Band-Aids.  lol But I clearly had not been dealing with Band-Aids, only insulin, so in the midst of this conversation, she started thinking maybe it hadn’t been Band-Aids after all.  Either the lady was diabetic herself, or working in a dr’s office, maybe she dealt with insulin throughout the day, and the scent was transferred to the paperwork she then gave to the bank.

It was just kind of funny to see the lightbulb go off in her head, even after all that time, that smell brought back that very apparently distinct memory for her.  Ok, now that that mystery is solved.. what’s next?  

What stories doyouhave regarding the smell of insulin?

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

