Friends for Life

Since joining the DOC in March (my first blog was March 1st, so I’m still somewhat of a newbie to this stuff, even though I’ve been diabetic for almost 20 years) I have “met” so many people and connected with them as if we’ve known each other forever.  I have only had the privelege of meeting a few DOC’ers in person so far at the JDRF Type 1 Now Conference in Austin a couple of months ago (shout out, Kerri and Christina!) but I’m hoping to one day put more faces with the names of people that have asked me how I’m doing after I post/tweet about an epic diabetes fail, and/or those that I have been the one asking if they are ok after they post a similar tweet/blog.  I can’t even begin to express how helpful and reassuring it has been to know I’m not alone. As cliche as that sounds. It’s true. There are several blogs that I read every day because they are not only a good read, but I am genuinely curious how that person is doing.

Next week is the Lollapalooza of the Diabetes world, better known as the Friends for Life conference in Orlando.   My friend, Suzanne, first told me about this event when she got tickets for her family several months ago, and up to that point, I had honestly never heard of it, and assumed it was just for Type 1 kiddos.  Then I joined the DOC and quickly heard (saw) how many of my fellow Adult Type1’s were going to be going.  I wish I’d known about it sooner. I would have loved to have gone and met some of these Social Media rockstars in person.

Unfortunately, it didn’t work out for me to make it this year… but I’m hoping maybe next year. Maybe it can be our family vacation all rolled into one fantabulous trip.  But for this year, I will sit at my computer and read the tweets, blogs, pictures, etc. of the event.  I know I will be somewhat envious (ok, a lot envious) but I will be there in spirit.   I would love to meet Kim and give her a hug to congratulate her on her first ever “You Can Do This Project” booth and see history in the making.  Next year I can go and congratulate her on her SECOND year with a booth 😉

My passion is to make a difference in the diabetes world. Even if it’s by touching just one person by telling them they’re not alone.  I have not yet figured out how to go about doing that (besides blogging) … but I’m working on it.  I feel like it’s given me a purpose and I plan on moving forward with it. I don’t want to be someone who just lives with this disease (there’s that word again, Scott!) But someone who helps others live with it successfully as well. Even if it’s offering words of encouragement.  This is why I will continue immersing myself in the DOC, where I am meeting my own friends for life.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friends for Life

  1. swis12 says:

    Im right here with ya sister. Our family has missed FFL for the last two years and had is scheduled for this year – but because of our big upcoming move we can not attend – again. Im so sad. Like you I am certain I will be watching the tweets and FB updates from all the lucky DOC members that will attend as guests, speakers or faculty. The three years that we did attend were the best – we miss it terribly. I hope we can both attend next year (it will be on Disney property – yea!)

  2. Kim says:

    Oh, Shannon! I wish you could be there, too. Luckily with all of the cameras that will be there, almost the whole thing will be documented, so… 🙂 I look forward to that hug someday!

  3. Karen says:

    Awww, when I saw the title of this post I got all excited thinking you were going to say you were coming!! *sigh* I hope you can go next year, and I hope I can go again next year to. I’d be thrilled to get to meet you in person!!

Leave a Reply

