Hungry for More

I have found myself recently wishing I could do more — get more involved with local diabetes awareness efforts. I have been actively volunteering with my local JDRF chapter for many many years. I have been walking in the Walk to Cure Diabetes for 20 years now. And for several years, I have co-chaired the Logistics team for the walk. I started out just going to the walk. Then I started raising money. Then I joined the Logistics committee on the food team. Then I was chairing the food committee. Then I co-chaired the walk, one year I ran the whole shabang on my own (under the direction of the JDRF office staff, of course) By now we are a very well oiled machine because we have an awesome team of volunteers that keep coming back every year 🙂

But now I’m at a crossroads where I want to do even more. I went to Austin’s JDRF chapter’s Type 1 Now conference a couple of months ago. And I keep reading/hearing about others in the DOC that are attending different JDRF and ADA conferences/expos, etc. But then I am finding that there is not much going on here locally. I live in a large metroplex, too, so I’m kind of surprised (disappointed) by that. I had a meeting with our Outreach Director a few weeks ago, and she is also a T1 so we are working on putting a few things together soon.

I am not even sure what I want to do — but I just know I want to do something. Whether it’s volunteer to help at different events (problem goes back to the non-local events) or potentially find a paid position doing something … I don’t know. But if anyone has any suggestions, I’d love to hear them.

I would also love to give my opinions on products, services, etc. I have always used whatever products my dr has given me – without questioning anything. I’ve never actually gone with a meter because that’s the one I wanted to use. I have been happy with the one I have always used, but how do I know if there’s not a better one? I have recently heard about a new one, and a new lancet device that I really want to try. But I just sent off for my 3 month refill on test strips. So I need to wait until that is finished to look into it.

So if anyone has any suggestions on how to move further down this path … my eager ears/eyes await. Thanks in advance!

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

