Leakage

Friday night I checked my bg before bed … 324. What?  I had Chick-fil-A for dinner, that’s a healthy version of fast food for those of you unfortunate ones that don’t have it locally – it’s DELISH. 🙂 But it never makes me go high because I have the carb count down to a science there.

So I give myself a correction bolus (20 something units) and then – “What’s the smell?”  I can smell insulin. (Yes, it does have a very distinct smell.)  Crap.  So I pull up my shirt to take a peek at my site … and it is sopping wet. Dang it!   I suspend my bolus, which of course by now has already given me 18ish units. 

So I pull out my site and clean up.  I have never seen an infusion set (the tape part of it) so wet before.  

Basically what had happened is the tape (the infusion tape and the IV3000 tape) had peeled up a little, just enough to let the cannula come out of my skin apparently.

I get everything out and reinserted in the other side, on my hip this time to give my tummy a break.  Then the true test comes …. how in the world do I get my bg down from that 324?  I have no idea how much of that correction bolus (if any) I actually got IN my skin.  So I have to totally SWAG it.  And the worst part of that was the time. By now it’s midnight!  Doh.  Not cool/fun going to bed with so many unknowns.  (I don’t normally stay up so late, but we were having company over the next morning, so I’d stayed up late cleaning.)

So I decide to give myself just half of the original correction bolus. I figured as wet as that tape was, there’s no way I got much more than that. So I bolus 10 units.   

When I woke up the next morning, I was 56!  Ugh.  I guess I’d gotten more of that correction than I thought.  I keep a juice box on my nightstand, so I reached over and started drinking it while watching cartoons. Gotta love Saturday mornings. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

