“I was runnnnnning”

I posted the other day about not having any hypos (low’s) for several weeks. And wouldn’t you know .. I woke up the next day in the 60s.  And by lunch time I was 54. Figures!  I’m not complaining, though. It’s much easier to bring up a low, than to bring down a high. 

On Saturday I decided to start a Couch to 5k program (I have an app on my phone that talks me through it.)  I have started this before, but never got very far. I’m hoping that I stick with it longer.. all I can do is try my best. I would love to run in a 5k one day. 🙂  So far I have run twice, both times 1.5 miles (ish) each.   

But I’m wondering if my low’s are a result of the running?  I read a post from a runner recently where he said that his sugars affected up to 2 days after his run.  I found that very interesting, and am wondering if any other PWD’s experience something similar?  If so, maybe that’s the reason for my good numbers all of a sudden.   Whatever it is, I’ll take it.  🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “I was runnnnnning”

  1. Johanna B says:

    I’ll probably never be a runner but I am an avid walker. The longest race I’ve done is a 10K and I’ve noticed that my BG is better for days after a long walk. I think the effect of exercise is cumulative – the more you do (up to a point, of course) the more you benefit.

    • Shannon says:

      That makes sense — and since it’s been such a drastic swing of being 160+ for days (couple of weeks) then I run a couple of times and now I’m not going above 120 … I figured there must be a tie in with the exercise. Our bodies are pretty crazy machines – so much going on that affects different things!

  2. First – love that you posted a picture of Forest – my favorite movie of all time.
    Second – the only time one would catch me running is if zombies were after me.
    Third and more on point – sweetstuff started using my elliptical a couple months ago. We have noticed that her sugars have improved overall but also that the low from the 45-60 min of activity on the elliptical seem to effect her 5-6 hours later. Not sure yet how we fix this.
    Good job on the increased activity!

Leave a Reply

