Vegas, Baby!

**I have had formatting issues with this post for a week, so I apologize in advance if by the time it’s published, it looks wonky.  It looks fine in editing mode, but by the time I preview/publish, it is all messy looking. I think it’s from the pictures, but I took some out already and wanted to at least share some of them!  Thanks, Sara, for “listening” to me vent about it! Suggestions are welcome 🙂  lol**

My husband and I have been fortunate enough to take some fun trips over the years. And I used to travel a lot with my last job.  But I have become SO much more aware of my diabetes the past few months, since finding the DOC, and this past weekend I took my first vacation as a born again Diabetic (lol that sounds funny – “BAD”. But it’s kinda true.)

So I was way more conscious in my packing –

And I have heard many of my new D friends say that their blood sugars sky rocket while flying, so I was aware of my starting BG  (135).  It ended up climbing to 211, but mid-flight I corrected, and landed with a 143.

I was pleased with both flights in/out of town, and I did find that I went high the first hour of the flights (both of them) and then I gave a correction and came back to normal before we landed.  Success.

I was all over the places that first hour or so of the flight, but ended up in a good place.

On Friday, we went to tour Hoover Dam.  I carried my smaller purse that was convenient and practical (aka small enough to not be cumbersome, but big enough to carry everything I needed – meter, glucose, etc.)   At one point, we had to go through a security gate before we could take the tour and I was very suprised when the security guard told me, “Ma’am, you should not have any problems with your insulin pump. You can go right through, but if it does beep, make sure to let the guard know on the other side that you’re wearing that pump.”  Wow.  I tend to wear it on my pants pocket when I’m out like that, so it’s more visible, but most people have no idea what it is.  I smiled and thanked him and went through with no problem.  After the tour, we drove over to the parking lot where we can walk up a lot of stairs to get to the new bridge that goes across the dam.  It was beautiful.  As we were coming back down the stairs, I felt low.  I checked and found out I was actually really high (268).  Hate when you feel totally opposite of the actual number :/ I’m guessing from the heat and all the walking – still doesn’t make sense to me that this happens, but it is what it is.

And later that evening, while we were having dinner… I had a “What the what?” moment.  Went back to the hotel and took out my sensor. Gave myself a break and put it back in Saturday morning. Much better.

On Saturday, we went shopping at a local outlet mall.   We passed a Dairy Queen and I am so glad they finally have mini Blizzards. So yummy.   When I ordered mine, my husband asked if they had a nutritional brochure that I could look at (I couldn’t get a good enough cell signal to look up the carbs and I couldn’t remember what it was from the last time I’d ordered one a few months ago.)  The young girl behind the counter was looking for one and he explained to her that I was diabetic, so I needed to at least know how many carbs were in it.  She said “I understand.” (When my brother-in-law stated from the corner, out of her earshot, “But does she really understand?” lol) As she handed me my mini cup of heaven, she said, “I guess you can only have one or two bites, huh? It has a lot of sugar in it.”

*sigh*

I told her, “No, ma’am (even though she was very young) I plan on eating the entire thing.  I wear an insulin pump (pointed to my pump) and it allows me to punch in how many carbs are in this, so I can sometimes enjoy treats like this.”  She looked at me like I had two heads.   And I’m proud to announce my 2 hour BG was 122. 😀

Mini chocolate chip cookie dough Blizzard. 63 carbs in case you’re wondering 😉

Saturday night, we went to a buffet and then a comedy show.  At the buffet, they had an entire row of desserts that were sugar free – I was very surprised!  But I opted for the real thing instead.  I was explaining to my family that it’s better sometimes to go for the real thing because there are still carbs in that sugar free dessert, and that is what I bolus off of (not sugar.)  And eating a bunch of sugar free dessert is just never a good idea for many other reasons.  So I took a few bites from the real thing and it was yummy. 🙂

After dinner, we went to a show – a local impersonater who was really good. We had stopped to buy a yard dog sized daquiri first (don’t judge) and I had no idea how many carbs to bolus for.  So I opted not to bolus – I made a judgement call to keep a close eye on my BG and correct as necessary.  I was starting out the evening with an ok number.  And the highest I ended up getting was 220-something.  So all in all I consider that a success.   What a non-D wouldn’t think about though is … I can’t just let loose and have a great time and get wasted.  I have to be careful about what I’m drinking – some things will lower and/or raise my BG, and I have to always have my wits about me enough to keep an eye on my BG.  

On our flight home, I asked for a Diet Coke. This is what they gave me…   lol I’m sure it was indeed a Diet Coke, but it didn’t taste very good – was sweet and syrup-y.  So I didn’t drink more than a few sips. But made sure to get a photo of it before sending it back with the Flight Attendant.

All in all we had a great trip. Albeit too short.   But it was very eye opening for me to pay such close attention. In the past, I would have only watched my BG before and maybe after meals.

And bonus pic – they were having a car show from old tv shows …. We saw Erik Estrada, Paul Michael Glaser, Mr. T, and ………. 

Bo Duke! (aka John Schneider)

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegas, Baby!

  1. Keiran says:

    I’m guessing that flight originated in Asia, so they still had those Diet Cokes on board? Haha

    Yay for the educated guard at Hoover Dam! 😀

  2. Shannon says:

    Oh, I loved Bo Duke back in the day!!! So jealous!!!

Leave a Reply

