Dblog Week – What I Wish You Knew

“What is one thing you would tell someone that does not have diabetes? Let’s do a little advocating and post what we wish people knew about diabetes. Have more than one thing you wish people knew? Go ahead and tell useverything.”

I have written about this before, but I wish people knew that I can eat what they eat.  Within reason, but I just have to do some math and punch in some numbers into my pump. So to the D-Popo.. back off, please and thank you.

I want them to know that yes, they could give themselves shots if they had to, and if their life depended on it. Which mine does.

That Type 1 diabetes is an autoimmune disease. Therefore people do not get it from eating too many sweets as a child.

That it is not necessary to make a “special dessert” just for me. You are likely going to be doing more harm than good, although I do appreciate the sincerity behind your offer.

That yes, I am very well aware that my diagnosis at age 17 was “a little old for Type 1”. But it is the hand I was dealt. Would it have been better if I had been a young child? No. I was at least able to have a healthy, normal childhood.

That I notice and hear the “Bless your hearts” I’ve been given the last
19+ years. (Hmm… I wonder if that is why my heart has been so healthy– being from/in the south, it has received many blessings!!)

That when I tell you “It’s not so bad” … I’m sort of lying.  I tend to put up a front to make it appear that life as a diabetic isn’t hard.. but it IS. (See my friend, Karen’s post about this – it’s greatness and fits most of us to a T.)

And on the flip side I want them to know that diabetes is a pain in the rear. It is a 24/7 job that I never get to take a break from. It is always there. Taunting me. It affects my mood, my meals/drinks, my sleep. It complicated my ability to have children (notice I said complicated, not prevented.)  It takes up a lot of room– literally and figuratively.

But you know what? Diabetes has made me who I am today. It has taught me how to be grateful. And to love with all my heart. And to appreciate every single breath that I have the ability of taking. It has brought friends into my life that I would not have known otherwise. And for that, I am grateful.

But at the end of the day … it’s still a pain in the rear.  But I’ll get up tomorrow and do it all over again. Rinse and repeat.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dblog Week – What I Wish You Knew

  1. Scott E says:

    “Not so bad”/”pain in the rear”… perfect way to summarize it. Its a pain and we deal with it, but I don’t want/need the sympathy.

Leave a Reply

