DBlog Week – One Thing to Improve

“Yesterday we gave ourselves a big pat on the back for one thing we are great at.  Today let’s look at the flip-side.  We probably all have one thing we could try to do better.  Why not make today the day we start working on it.  No judgments, no scolding, just sharing one small thing we can improve so the DOC can cheer us on!”

****************************        

There are many things that I need to improve upon when it comes to my diabetes management.  And like I’ve mentioned before, finding the DOC has made me even more aware of those things – which has been GREAT for me.  More often than not lately, I honestly feel like I’m newly diagnosed, even after almost 20 years!

All of these I’ll mention are things I know I need to do (or do better) but somehow I still haven’t gotten completely on board.  Changing my lancets — not just more often, but in general. I never rarely do it.  I also need to wash my hands or use alcohol wipes before I test. I know that it can cause a drastic difference in my results, sometimes determining a correction bolus or not.

I need to change my pump and CGM sites more often. Especially now that I know that is the cause of most of my scar tissue from wearing the pump the first time around 14ish years ago. But the other part of my brain wants me to always hold out just a few more days, so I don’t have to poke yet another hole. So I just add more insulin to the reservoir when I get that “Low Reservoir” warning, and go along a couple more days.

But if I had to pick onething that was the biggest work in progress for me.. it would be in regards to food/carb counting.   I have always had a normal diet. Normal meaning basically non-D.  With some adjustments, obviously.  But for the most part, I don’t eat as healthy as I should. By any means. I am not obese.  But I do need to lose about 30ish pounds (that may be a bit much .. but it’s a goal.)  Not only to look better, but to FEEL better.  And most importantly, to reign in my diabetes.   When I was doing a low carb diet earlier this year… I dropped weight without even exercising (something I don’t mind doing .. just never seem to find make the time for it.)  I felt better than I’d ever felt.  I was taking HALF of the daily insulin I’d grown accustomed to.  I was barely even having to bolus for my meals.    And that lasted for a couple of months .. and then things would get busy and we’d order pizza. Or pick up fast food.  Or go out to eat.  And before I could snap my fingers, I’d fallen jumped off the bandwagon.  Luckily I haven’t gained the weight back yet … but I’m back to taking more insulin.  And my daily totals are embarassing (to me since I’m the only one that sees them regularly.)   I was also logging at the time and that made a huge difference in what I ate.  When you see it in writing … it makes you uber aware and you instinctively start making adjustments.

Along those lines … I need to improve my carb counting and actually account for every carb I’m putting in my mouth. I definitely am a SWAG’er.  And sometimes I get it right, sometimes I don’t.  I tend to just go with the same # of carbs for all fast food, and a lot of the time it works but others it doesn’t – depends on what they cook with.  And I rarely measure out sauces/condiments.  Ok, never.  I just go with the bulk of the food and then add a couple here and there to account for the “extras”.  I don’t always bolus for fruit, either.  Oops and I don’t bolus for coffee but sometimes I should – especially if it’s my favorite Grande Non-Fat Latte with 1 Sweet ‘n Low and a particular coffee shop. 😉

My A1C had dropped a full point at my last endo appointment in March.  That was during my low carb “phase”.  I have no doubt that it will have crept up when I go back next month.  I have about 6 weeks to work on it, but the number won’t lie. It’ll be right there on that meter, clear as day. (He uses the A1C Now meter, that gives me the results in the office.) But if I would work on those things I just mentioned … that number would come stay down.

Thanks, DOC, for not judging.. and for having open hearts/minds/arms for the rest of us that need to work on the things we’ll be writing about today.  We all have our things (plural) to work on .. and it’s so nice to know that we all GET it. And can support one another. 

Baby steps!  Move forward. Keep swimming.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DBlog Week – One Thing to Improve

  1. Sara says:

    I hear you on the eating healthier! It’s just so much easier to eat the quick stuff when I am in a hurry!

Leave a Reply

