My Friends’ Perspective of Diabetes

Recently I asked my friends/family to send me a story that they remember when they think of me/diabetes.  I thought I’d share what I have so far. Hopefully more will come in! This was fun to hear their memories 😀

“I remember the first time you shared with me the ingredients of your famous Dr. Pepper cake… Diet Dr. Pepper?!!? I was shocked! And sad for you when I realized you don’t ever have the enjoyment of a real Dr. Pepper. But glad you don’t seem to mind.” ~Amy

“I think the first time I saw you take a shot was at a restaurant in Ft. Worth. We were drinking some wine during the HR Southwest conference. I remember you had to take meds but it shocked me there for a second. You didn’t have the pump yet, so you whipped out a syringe!” ~Maggi

“My favorite one is the night we were in College Station at Shadow Canyon. You had decided to wear a dress that night, and while we were out there dancing to some song where all of us were holding hands in a circle (Chicken Dance!) your pump came flying out from under your dress and was trailing behind you, swinging between your legs!! You were so calm and cool about it. You just picked up the pump, went to the bathroom and clipped it back. Then you came back out like it was nothing. I was scared that you may have pulled out the needle or something, but everything was fine. I am really impressed with how you have not let your diabetes control you.” ~Sheri

“The time you told us about your cat stealing part of your equipment for your pump (CGM) and then you found it under the stove.” ~Tiffany

The cat story was actually pretty funny (after the fact) so I’ll elaborate on that one a little bit.  I had taken off my CGM transmittor and laid it on the kitchen counter.  I went to look for it a day or two later and it wasn’t there.  It was one of those “I know I left it right there” moments .. but I couldn’t find it anywhere.  I looked everywhere. I finally emailed my Medtronic rep to ask how much it was going to cost to replace that bad boy. She told me and I said, “Yikes. I’ll keep looking.”  Several days went by. I was kicking myself for not keeping better track of it.   Then for some reason I thought maybe my cat had played with it and batted it off somewhere. Shoot, if that’s the case, it could be anywhere by now.  So I looked under everything. No deal.  The stove! Surely it’s not under there.. but that was the only place we hadn’t looked yet.  Sure enough. In the midst of all of the dirt (guess we need to pull that thing out every once in a while – eewww) I saw a little beveled object that looked out of place.  I go and get our yard stick, pull it out. And Voila.  There was my transmittor. Thank goodness.  I cleaned it up, put it back on the charger, and it was good as new.   I know keep it on the little blue charger any time I’m not wearing it, and it stays in my supply bag. Lesson learned. 😉

Thanks, friends, for the stories/memories … keep ’em coming!

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Friends’ Perspective of Diabetes

  1. Scott E says:

    Wow, this is quite an interesting perspective! I’ve never really bothered to ask what other people thought of my diabetes, but kind of think that the response would be “it’s his issue, he deals with it.” Yes, there are a few times, looking back, when circumstances forced it into the spotlight at center-stage and I’ve needed to ask for help, but overall I’ve been pretty discreet. Maybe it’s a gender thing… guys just don’t talk about how they think of one another.

    Are these the kind of responses you expected, or were they surprising to you?

    • Shannon says:

      I wasn’t really sure what I expected ..but I enjoyed the responses I did get. I hope to get more back and include them in the future. 🙂

  2. Johanna B says:

    I enjoyed the cat story. I never met a cat I didn’t like but they can get themselves into interesting situations, can’t they. Glad you found the transmitter.

    • Shannon says:

      Oh I am too. I was really thinking we’d have to buy a new one, and they are not cheap (insurance wouldn’t have covered it because I hadn’t had this one very long!)

  3. Sara says:

    I love the dancing story! I’ve been close to a pump escape but I don’t think I’ve ever had one fall completely out of a dress 😀

Leave a Reply

