Blame it on the D

For the most part, diabetes doesn’t interfere in my public life.  Maybe in little ways here and there, but not overall.  It’s always there 24/7, of course, but usually it’s just a thorn in MY side, and I feel like I go above and beyond to make sure it doesn’t affect anyone around me any more than it has to.

The other day, I was taking A to his friend’s birthday party.  We’d spent the morning unexpectedly locked in the garage so the day was already a little shot.  I was in the middle of getting ready for the party and I needed to do a quick site change before we left.  No big deal, right?  Wrong.  I can do a site change pretty quickly. In fact, as I was doing this particular one, I was thinking “Man, I’m pretty good at this.” I didn’t know if I should be impressed or sad about it.

If you’ve been reading my blog for any amount of time, you know that I’ve had some tape isues lately.  It won’t stick to my stomach area.  That’s where this one was going but I was prepared. I already had out a piece of IV3000 infusion tape that has a hole cut in it, and should fit nicely around the site.  I used my QuickSerter, shot it in there and before I could throw away my mess I’d just made, the tape started peeling back up.  I cannot begin to express how frustrating this has been for me. Medtronic has been awesome and sent me several options/workarounds to try. I’ll admit I hadn’t had the opportunity to try them yet, because my last couple of site changes have gone fine (read: haven’t been in my stomach).

So this particular time, since I needed it done quickly, I put it in my stomach, and of course I’m going to have tape issues.  That, and now the clock’s ticking and we are officially late for the party.  Which only worsened my frustration/stress.

So I pull out the tape… fits like a glove.  Until I try to pull off that last layer of tape.  There are 3 layers that come off, and all that should be left is a thin clear piece.  I can’t ever seem to get that last layer off, and this time was no different.   And to top that off, A is getting frustrated that we aren’t leaving, and is standing there next to me, holding the birthday present, saying “Mommmmy we need to go. We should already be there by now.” (He’s a very mature four year old.) I stopped messing with the tape for a second, and calmly asked him if he knew what I was doing. He said “You’re putting on your insulin pump.”  I told him that I needed him to wait for me in the living room.  I hated that I was having to be short .. but I was so frustrated. Not with him. But with the tape. And the process in general.  And with diabetes. I finally gave up on the IV3000 tape, and left for the party with my slightly peeling infusion tape. (Update: Later that evening, my hubby worked with me on the tape and we figured out the “trick” to get that last layer off.  And the site is still taped down just fine 😉  )

Everything ended up fine, but I hated leaving in a “mood” and even more that I had to dismiss A because of this stupid disease.  From beginning to end, the whole scenario was just a few minutes long .. but it felt like I was standing there for hours. Luckily I didn’t have to give any excuses for being late to the party (not that I would have given the full story anyway), I ended up not even being the latest one to show up. But I did hate knowing that if not for diabetes, I’d have (probably) been on time.

Diabetes is frustrating sometimes.   Rinse and repeat.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blame it on the D

  1. Scott E says:

    Your child will forgive you. They always have a way of understanding the meddling tendencies of diabetes in ways that continues to amaze us. And they continue to love us, unconditionally.

  2. Johanna B says:

    I do love reading your blog. A will forgive you. Hope you can forgive yourself.

  3. Sara says:

    The IV3000s have been frustrating me too lately! I bring out a stack of them when I change my pump site because sometimes I can’t get that third layer to separate right! Grrr!

    • Shannon says:

      Sorry to hear that – but secretly glad to know it’s not just me! I get so mad at them sometimes. I’ve gotten to where I’ve had to have my husband try and peel off that last layer .. by that point I need to “walk away” but the problem at hand is still there… so he can look at at it calmly and usually peel it right off. lol

Leave a Reply

