Locked Out

This past weekend, my four year old (A) and I were working in the garage, straightening things up and he went inside to go potty.  As he came back outside, he said (very proudly), “Mommy, I locked the door so Sadie can’t come out.”  (Sadie’s our cat.)  But what he ended up doing was locking Sadie IN the house.  Ruh roh. 

My husband was away at a camping trip with E, and here I was locked in the garage with A.. and thank goodness I had brought my cell phone outside with me to use for music.  I called my mom and asked her if she could drive the 20ish minutes to our house to unlock my door. Thank goodness she had a spare key.

Luckily we had eaten a big breakfast, so I was still in my 2 hour spike.  But it’s funny how your mind works.  As soon as I realized that I was outside without any of the supplies I use to keep me alive (with the exception of my pump, of course I had that on) I started almost panicking.  I also didn’t have my CGM on (had taken a break for the weekend) so I was thinking “I have no idea what my blood sugar is?  What if it’s low. Oh no if it IS low, what the heck am I gonna do about it?” I didn’t even have my car keys on me to drive anywhere or get the Quick Sticks I had in my car.  Of course all of this was going on inside my head.  Gotta keep it cool in front of A. 😉

Any average (read: Non-D) person would be locked in the garage as I was, and only be thinking “Man, it’s hot out here.”  I had to think that, plus play a guessing game everywhere from “Wonder what my BG is?” to “What am I going to do to fix it if it’s low?”  I was about to go all MacGuyver .. but luckily I didn’t need to.  Mom showed up, let us in, and after I got cold water for both of us … I checked my BG and I was 179.  Been a while since I’d been so happy to see a number in that range.

I was also thankul for those chocolate chip pancakes I’d made for breakfast. 😉

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Locked Out

  1. Sara says:

    I got locked out with two kids once when I was babysitting. Kids just think they are being SOO helpful! Thank goodness for a random unlocked window big enough for a kid to slip in through!

Leave a Reply

