Local Outreach

I have been involved in my local JDRF chapter in one capacity or another, for almost 20 years.   Mostly as a co-chair to the annual Walk to Cure Diabetes but I’ve always wanted to do more.  So I recently reached out to my friends in their office, and asked “What can I do?”  Since joining the DOC in March, I have realized just how much we’re lacking in local outreach to Adult Type 1’s.   I attended the Type 1 Now conference in Austin last month, and to my knowledge we have not done anything similar in my area.  So I drove 4ish hours. And learned more in that one day, than I have in ..  I don’t even know how long.

I had a meeting yesterday with our local JDRF Outreach Director, who also happens to be an adult Type 1.  We did lots of brainstorming and I am very excited about the ideas we came up with!  A very interesting point that came up in our talk is ….  the chapter focuses primarily on children living with Diabetes .. which is fantastic.  BUT those kids are going to grow up, and then what?   They will be like me living almost 20 years with this, and no where to go/turn for support. 

I was asked to help head up a volunteer outreach committee, which I’m very excited about doing.  And I also set up a Facebook page for local Adult Type 1’s.  There was a Yahoo group already in place that does not have a lot of members, and not much traffic, so I’ll let them all know about the Facebook page and hopefully we can get the ball rolling on that. And there is a group of ladies that have been meeting (albeit sporadically) for a few years now, and she asked if I wanted to start planning those get togethers and get dates on the calendar. It is SO important to be around others “like us”.  And I am very much looking forward to starting this journey.  Who knows what kind of doors it may open?   🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Local Outreach

  1. Scott E says:

    You should be proud, Shannon! I’d love to become actively involved in JDRF locally in some way, but I just don’t have a whole lot of time, and I’d hate to commit to something and not be able to follow through. I admire your assertiveness to something you’re so passionate about!

  2. Karen says:

    Yay, that’s awesome!!! I work on the Adult Outreach Committee for my JDRF chapters too. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do . . . . I can’t wait to hear what kind of events work for your group (we could always use some new inspirations).

Leave a Reply

